Where it started

Have you heard of the Global Corporate Challenge (GCC)? (www.gettheworldmoving.com/)  I did this two years ago.  The pedometer was a bit of a pain but I found it to be like a real boost, reminder and encouragement to exercise and to get my steps up.  I have always been an active person and love to walk.  Anyway I walked and walked and managed to clock up around 12,000 steps per day (not bad for someone who works sitting at a desk).  Also at this time I was umming and arring about joining a gym.  I went to one but it wasn’t really my thing.  I was in an electrical store one day and saw a Wii Fit on sale for $30.  This was the monthly cost for the gym I tried.  I thought what the heck, I only have to use it for a month to get my money’s worth.  I loved the Wii Fit – it was fun, I did things I hadn’t done for ages and I found I was getting fitter and stronger.  I did about three to four sessions a week for about 30 to 45 minutes each.

I started running on the Wii Fit!  I puffed and hurt and felt exhausted.  I kept running.  I went outside and ran from the house to the hay barn (200m).  I thought I was going to die.

I kept running a little bit.  Then after a few months I ran all the way to the letter box (1.2km).  I felt like I had achieved something so monumental. I felt great.  I had done something I never in a million years thought I could achieve.

This all helped to make my GCC step count go through the roof.

The GCC came and went.  I have kept running.

Leave a Reply

