Run for your heart fun run

We were hit down quite badly by a virus last week but managed to make the fun run on Saturday.  Only a 5km.  For the first time ever I could see my speedy husband up in front of me for some of the way.  By the 3.5km mark for the first time ever I had stitch and really wanted to stop.  I finished though and the time was only one minute over my personal best.  Husband’s was about six minutes slower than usual.

My goal is to run all the way and finish.  I did that 🙂

I was disappointed though that my head got in the way.  I started to doubt that I would be able to finish so I slowed down.

I have to get over my what my head tells me and do what I know I can do.  For the first time ever though I laced up my shoes with the sure knowledge that even though I had been ill and hadn’t run for six days that I could definitely do a 5km run.

This is very huge for this unsporty woman.  I can run.

What I learnt:

  • you can run 5kms without much training
  • you can run all the way and finish

The feeling of accomplishment was not as great but it was still pretty fine.

Leave a Reply

