A fence leaning moment

January is over, this is the first month ever that I have logged my runs.  The total?  75kms – all 5km runs apart from one 10km.  Let me sit in the office and reflect on this for a moment… never in my wildest dreams when I first started running did I think that I would ever run this far in a month.  Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I’d be brave enough to admit to people that I run.  Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d start a blog about it.  Me start a running blog?  That is just so unimaginable.  A blog maybe, but not about running.

This blog, as the byline says, is about encouraging everyone to be the best that they can be.  Not the fastest, or the fittest, but just the best under whatever circumstances prevail.  I’m excited about my fitness and running story.  I can’t believe that I have come this far.

I’m not sporty, I run, therefore running isn’t a sport?  This is my logic.  Sport is something that involves balls, bats, goal posts and rules.  Running is just me, my shoes, the road, a huge helping of determination and my beloved distance.  Distance and I have so much further to go but our preliminary getting-to-know-you dates have been very promising.  Running is joy, running is challenge, running is freedom on two 48-year-old legs – mine.

Taking a little lean on the fence and a moment to catch my breath I realise that running has taken me on the most amazing trip of my life.  I’ve asked my body to do something that for over 40 years it had never done.  It just goes to show that anything is possible.  We just have to make the decision to try.

Happy running 🙂

Try

(PS today at parkrun I was sure I’d done a PB.  Guess what? I did my last PB again – 26:09 hehe 26:09 rocks!!!  26:09 two times, that’s cool)

6 thoughts on “A fence leaning moment

  1. What a terrific blog! I’ve just started running with a joy now, before it was a slog. But I’m a shuffler. Do I even call it running? I am struggling with my legs giving out before my lungs are though, but I’m building on it. Looking forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

