To treadmill or not to treadmill?

Happy Friday!  I love Fridays, they are the start of my weekend or as I like to say Friday is the new Saturday and Saturday is still Saturday!  I started working four days a week just over two years ago and I love love LOVE it!  I can’t say I was unhappy to see the end of this week, it has been a bit stressful on some levels but in one other fabulous way it has seen the end of a huge stress.  It rained.  It rained and rained and rained.  From a lovely little fairy tap dance on the roof to a pure pouring perfection.  It rained and rained.  Why am I so happy?  This rain is the precious Autumn break that we have been longing for and the end of the need to irrigate on the farm.  Irrigation is expense, labour intensive and never-ending during the hot summer months.  It does not put Husband in a very good mood!

2013-03-21 18.16.00

rain pouring off the not quite finished extension on our house

With the rain brought my first soggy run for the year.  Be damned if some water and a few rivers down the driveway were going to stop me from running on a scheduled run day.  Rain, wind, heat don’t stop me.  The one weather phenomenon that does is an electrical storm.  And just for good measure yesterday we had several!  I put on my running gear, got out my spray jacket, put on my cap and tied up my hood (the rain was pelting sideways and I just don’t like rain in my ears!).  Then the thunder started again.  What to do?  I chose to run five 1km laps where there was some shelter along the way (garage, calf shed, haybarn, silo).  So if worse came to worse I could shelter.  But I didn’t need to 🙂  5kms done and dusted.

wet wet wet

Arriving home I was just plain water-logged.  Dripping. Soaked.

The age-old treadmill question was raised again as I pulled off my wet compression pants – a workout in itself!  Husband had been happily ensconced on the couch while I was running and just looking out every now and then to make sure I hadn’t been zapped by lightning.  He would like a treadmill.  I’m not so sure.  I’ve had an exercise bike before and it was so boring!  Blondie daughter #1 quite liked it and used it until it died.

Here is my list of For and Against for a treadmill:

For:

  • Husband says he will use it
  • No wet and cold involved
  • No head torch is necessary
  • Electrical storms won’t stop me running

Against:

  • There is a stop button that can be pushed at anytime – will we get sick of it and push it before we are done?
  • They need power, we have lots of power outages over winter so I might have to run outside anyway
  • They are boring!  No scenery to look at or fresh air to breath
  • They are electronic so things can go wrong with them

The lists are the same length  and to be honest I’m still leaning towards getting one.  It would be so much easier to join a gym.  But gyms are a long way from here!  It just doesn’t make sense to drive all the way into the city for a run on a treadmill – the cost of travel and gym membership would soon be paid by the treadmill purchase price and travel time and expense.  I have a good collection of weights that I use regularly so a treadmill would add to our home gym.

I’m sure Husband will have a lovely time doing some product research.  He would like one that goes up to 16kms per hour and a few other features.

To treadmill or not to treadmill?  Time will tell.  What do you think this unsporty woman should do?  Keep being revitalised out in the winter weather or be warm and cosy on a treadmill?

Happy running 🙂

PS I’ve really enjoyed reading some northern hemisphere blogs and find it funny when Husband tells me it’s too cold or wet to run when some fellow running people are running in snow and ice.  Last year I was watching Sydney’s City to Surf Fun Run on TV and the commentators were wondering how the runners were coping with the cold – it was 16°C (60.8°F) which is really mild for Tasmania! I guess it is all relative 🙂

7 thoughts on “To treadmill or not to treadmill?

  1. Wow, that is big rain!

    Personally, I’m not a fan of treadmills (I can’t get into a good rhythm on them and find it hard to focus). Although I’ve pondered getting one for training when the weather is bad, I haven’t got one. But I would if I didn’t find them boring!

  2. That is a lot of water! It’s snowing here today….

    Yeah, the treadmill could be a good piece of multifunctional equipment – for exercise or hanging clothing from!

  3. The treadmill is definitely a viable alternative in bad weather but is not a great long term substitute for being outdoors. The powercuts are a bit of an issue though, especially if they coincide with bad weather. I sympathise with the difficult decision. What you need is a treadmill that powers the house instead – that would be great!

    • Love the idea of electricity powered by running! We have a generator that we hook the house water pump up to and other essentials like the hair dryer and straightener but a treadmill providing power would be very carbon friendly 🙂 And I could get Husband on to it hehe

  4. We are fortunate enough to live right down the street from the gym. I did join it and I know quite a few people there so it is a great way to keep me motivated when we are all snowed in (which this year is happening weekly!) However a run outside is what I always crave, the treadmill is just for those moments that I can’t run outside.

    • I can’t believe all the snow that’s been happening in the northern hemisphere. We are still enjoying quite unseasonably warm weather here which is sort of nice but I really do love the four seasons. I think we will only use the treadmill when outside isn’t an alternative too.

Leave a Reply

