Running at Low Isles on the Great Barrier Reef

Think of Queensland and most Australian’s next thought is of the Great Barrier Reef. One of the wonders of the world, visible from space! It really is beautiful. Magical. Fascinating.

I’ve been snorkelling a few times now. I can honestly say that nothing, absolutely nothing has ever fascinated me quite so much that I forget every problem, every issue, ever worry – time stands completely still while I flip and flap and gaze down at the colourful coral and amazing sea creatures through my mask. The only sound is that of the water lapping around my ears and my breath through my snorkel.

Last Saturday Husband and I headed off to Low Isles. We had been before and loved it. It’s a small coral cay (a little tropical island) that has been built up over the years through the weather and tidal processes (I’m no marine biologist, that’s my layman’s description). It even has a little lighthouse smack bang in the middle of it.

This little island is gorgeous

Close your eyes, think of a tropical island, imagine it in your mind – I am sure you are seeing something very like Low Isles.

P1010526

What does the Unsporty Woman do on Low Isles?
a) She enjoys the beautiful catamaran trip out
b) She loves the seafood lunch
c) She adores sitting on the bow of the boat and watching the sails unfurl
d) She goes for a little walk through the middle of the island, looks at the lighthouse and smells the frangipani
e) She goes for a long snorkel and sees all sorts of things – technicoloured soft corals, fish with spots, stripes, swirly bits in bright beautiful colours (she even saw Nemo in his swaying home of sea anemones), a few turtles and small reef sharks (Husband assures that these guys aren’t aggressive, they obviously weren’t hungry last Saturday, we live the tell the tale)
f) AND she runs around the island, twice!

Low Isles Small

I didn’t really run in the water

Low Isles Large

Low Isles in relation to Port Douglas and Cairns

I was determined to go for a run around the island – running around it twice clocks up how many kms do you think? ONE! I made a few friends by running around the island. Most of the other holiday makers thought I was quite mad (the sand was really soft to run in and it was hot – 29°C).

on the Wavedancer

  LI1

  LI2  LI3

It was lovely day.

Happy running 🙂

PS just a few more photos

P1010507

P1010517

Frangipani flowers

P1010488

Honeymoon2

6 thoughts on “Running at Low Isles on the Great Barrier Reef

  1. Looks like you had an amazing time Anne-Marie, I have always wanted to visit the Barrier Reef, I may get up there one year for the Cairns 70.3 then have a well earned snorkle holiday! 😀

  2. Looks like you’re having a great time! That tiny island must be half the size of the suburban block I live on. But about a million times more gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

