Getting to the starting line

half

On Saturday I will be at the start line of my very first half marathon

This Unsporty Woman has come a long way in three years. Not as far or as fast as many, but still a long way.

If I’d realised how important running would become, I would have taken note of the day I first decided to try to run. But I didn’t. It was just a day three years ago. Just a day that I sucked up my resolve, put on my only pair of track pants, laced up my old sandshoes that I had for walking and tried to run. I didn’t know what was going to happen to me on this journey called running.

I didn’t know running would become such an important part of who I am or I would have taken note of the date, the anniversary of when it started. I’d mark the date with a party, with cake, with cheers. With a deep sense of knowing that on that day I made a decision that would change my life.

This is my running story.  Saturday is a big milestone. It’s first half marathon day.

I’m so excited. I can’t believe I’ve come this far.

Taking those first running steps on our farm. Feeling silly. Feeling like I was going to die of a heart attack and that my lungs were going to explode.  Tentatively entering a few fun runs. Being encouraged by Husband.  Growing in confidence and fitness.  Getting into bootcamp.  The wonderful day that parkrun started in Launceston, meeting and becoming part of the running community.  Taking the plunge and becoming a member of the Launceston Athletic Club.  Joining The Running Group.  Slowing transforming myself from unsporty non-runner… To NOW!  The unsporty runner who is confident enough (just enough) to get to the start line of a half marathon!

If I can do this ANYONE can. Just keep running. Run your own race.  Go your own pace. You can do it.

Happy running 🙂

PS Next milestone? Sunday 17 November, Point to Pinnacle

13 thoughts on “Getting to the starting line

  1. There’s nothing like crossing that first half marathon start line… NOTHING like crossing that finish! Enjoy every minute of it!!… & smile for those race pictures! you’ll want a picture of your first HM!!! GOOD LUCK!!!

  2. I will be thinking of you on Saturday! If you hear a ghost cheer at the moment you feel like giving up, that will be me 🙂 You are an inspiration!

  3. I’ll be thinking of you on Saturday while I’m volunteering at parkrun 🙂 I’m sending you good running vibes and loads of encouragement. Go for it and have a great run. I am looking forwarding to reading all about it in your next post 🙂

  4. Pingback: Kilometre 19 | Unsporty Women Can Run

Leave a Reply

