Running pink

Have you laced up your shoes and run in an event to raise money for breast cancer research?  Perhaps you’ve bought some pink merchandise or gone to a Girl’s Night In?

I want to say a big thank you to you!  Over the last month I’ve benefitted from your generosity.

With a family history of breast cancer I have very regular screening.  I am so grateful for all the donations that have been made to breast cancer research.  Little bit by little bit, break through after break through, advances are being made.  I’m so fortunate to live in an era where early detection is the norm.  Unlike my Nanny who was diagnosed in her very early 50s and died in 1977 aged 57, I live at a time where anything suspect can be thoroughly checked.  Same for my Mum who’s breast cancer was detected very early thanks to the Breast Screen Tasmania buses that travel the length and breadth of this island state.  These buses make it possible for all women over 40 to have regular screening without having to travel.  Mum’s cancer was found early, treated, ending in happy survival.

I always joke about my verandah – or lack there of.  In fact they charge me extra for screening due to the search fee involved!  I breastfed all three children and in their heyday Australia Post was considering a postcode for my verandah due to their spectacular and stupendous size and shape (I could even rest a plate on them back in the day!).  Alas, that is all history and saggy-sultanas is a more apt description.

Regardless of their size they still need regular screening.  This time there were some inconclusive results so a biopsy was necessary.  The results have come back today and they are all clear.

Thank you dear running community for all the pink events you organise and participate in.  I am truly grateful for the mammogram machine, the professional people who read the results and all the other ways that they look after women like me.

pinkribbon

Ladies, please check your breasts regularly.  Please take advantage of all the break throughs in breast cancer detection.  It can be unpleasant but it is so worth it.

Happy running 🙂

PS While this post sounds happy and upbeat the fear that embraced me when the GP said that there was something to be concerned about had the force of a category five cyclone.  All up this process took a month.  The endurance to persevere and push through that running has taught me has been the best thing ever.  It’s been tough physically, mentally and emotionally.  The first thing I did after that visit to the GP was to lace up my shoes and run.  I’ve never cried and run at the same time, but I did that night.  It cleared my head and gave me strength.   Having a first hand view of this process has increased my empathy for others who go through this and beyond in a way I can’t describe.

And Husband?  If he was worried he didn’t show it once.  He is my rock. He actually likes the perky look of my very swollen left breast (despite its black and blue colour)!

14 thoughts on “Running pink

  1. Love your post! As someone who was diagnosed just over 3 months ago with breast cancer (DCIS), I can attest to the importance of getting your mammograms regularly. I was lucky mine was found through a routine screening and is very treatable, surgery and 6.5 weeks radiation therapy…I’m now in week 2.
    I also agree it can be unpleasant and uncomfortable, but the advancements in detection and treatment make it a no brainer … put aside your doubts and fears and GET CHECKED REGULARLY.
    PS, I’ll be walking with my family and friends in our local “Race for the Cure” event on October 6th. (My third year).

    • Thank you so much for your comment Carol. I wish you all the very best and great strength to get through your treatment. It certainly is a no brainer and yet there are many women who won’t get checked. Great to hear you are walking in the Race For the Cure event 🙂

  2. I am sooooooo pleased to hear your biopsy was all clear 🙂 :):)
    Time for celebration – lets go for another run….. 21.1km anyone.

    Seriously though, Unsportywomencanrun I have been thinking of you, and am really pleased to hear the good news.

  3. Thanks for sharing :-). Life stories such as these bring reality to those things we think ‘won’t happen to me’. I know your honesty and courage has inspired me to stay proactive and have no doubt it will inspire others too, so thanks again 🙂 to all that posted :-). I am so glad to hear your good news!! Xxx. Onward and Upward ;-). Xx.

  4. I am so happy everything worked out for you Anne-Marie, my grandmother died of breast cancer too, she was only 38, nowadays they would have found it and she would have lived a long and happy life. It just goes to show how times have thankfully changed for us gals (and the guys too). xo

    • [clumsy fingers]

      This must have been such a difficult process to go through. I am always very positive when people tell me “a test found something”. We have great doctors with amazing techniques these days – finding something is only the start of curing it. But ive never been in that chair heading the news myself. i imagine it must be world-shaking.

      I am so glad everything is ok, and the tests were able to give you some peace of mind.

      xxx

      I

  5. I’m glad and relieved to hear everything checked out OK, it must have been a really difficult and stressful time for you. I’m also glad that you had access to a great healthcare (the Breast Screening buses, what a fantastic initiative) and the support of your husband and family. x

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m very grateful. Those buses are excellent. They make it so easy for women to be screened. They even send out reminder letters that look like pink flowery invitations and put posters up around the town they are visiting, it’s all so friendly.

Leave a Reply

