Leek and Sweet Potato Soup

Is there anything nicer than a rainy rest day?  It’s wet, cold and miserable outside but that’s ok because my running shoes are staying warm and dry inside.  It’s rest day.

And it’s Friday – I don’t go to work on Fridays.  And Husband is away today. And Son #1 hasn’t arrived for the weekend yet.  It’s a day for me.

2013-08-02 15.08.09

What to do?

The TV stays off – happiness! (Husband loves the TV on all the time, I like quiet or music).

Cook soup! That’s what I’ll do.

I know, I have an exciting life, and loving it!

Leek and Sweet Potato Soup

2013-08-02 15.07.19

4 leeks, washed, trimmed and sliced
3 small to medium-sized sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
1 medium potato peeled and diced
5 cups of chicken stock (I do use store bought but today made it from scratch – I have no idea why but making homemade stock always makes me feel like a domestic goddess / earth mother! It must be that homey aromatic smell)
1 tsp crushed garlic
1 tsp grated ginger
2 tsps smoked hot Hungarian paprika

Sauté the leeks in a little olive oil for five minutes or until soft.  Add the garlic and ginger and sauté for a few moments.  Add the sweet potato and potato.  Sauté, stirring frequently for around 10 minutes.  Add the stock and paprika, bring to a gentle boil, reduce to a simmer and cook for about 30 minutes.  Season to taste. Blend it all together. Done!

Enjoying a sneaky glass of delicious Tasmanian wine

Enjoying a sneaky glass of delicious Tasmanian wine while the pot simmers

This recipe is a combination of several I found on dear old Google.  Am I allowed to say it was yummy?  Because it was.  I’d add a little more ginger next time.

Housework avoidance tactic #1 blog about cooking soup while sipping aforementioned sneaky glass of wine

Housework avoidance tactic #1 blog about cooking soup while sipping aforementioned sneaky glass of wine

2013-08-02 15.55.45

It was the perfect soup to compliment the weather and rest day.  Tomorrow will be another story, it looks like it’s going to be a freezing, foggy, rainy Launceston morning – perfect for parkrun 🙂  And do you know what?  This unsporty woman can’t wait to line up and run around beautiful Heritage park no matter what the weather dishes up.  I love my rest days, they are an important part of the program, but I love running days more.

Happy running 🙂

Ps I don’t want to appear too lazy.  Running rest day has also involved running some errands in Launceston first thing this morning, hosing the front porch, driveway and Husband’s wet weather leggings (yes I know it’s raining but you should see the mud that gets traipsed in on my front porch), four loads of washing, some paper work and filling the kindling box.  A running rest day, but not a domestic duties rest day.

6 thoughts on “Leek and Sweet Potato Soup

  1. Oh, I love leek and potato soup. I live on it in winter. Never thought to put sweet potatoes in it though. Or paprika. Looking forward to trying that.

    • Thank you:) Sweet potatoes are in abundance here at the moment as are leeks. I am going to try putting the paprika in with the garlic and ginger next time to see if that brings out the flavour a little more.

Leave a Reply

