Looking back, looking forwards

This time last year I didn’t know any other runners, just Husband.

This time last year I was battling sore knees and didn’t think I would ever run more than 5kms at a time (I really wanted to, but in my heart of hearts I didn’t think it was possible, my dreams were only wishful thinking).

This time last year I hadn’t entered a 10km event.

This time last year the thought of joining a running club made me feel awkward.

This time last year a half marathon was only wishful thinking.

This time last year a marathon… a marathon… get real… wasn’t a thought that entered my head.

This time last year I was hoping to run the Point to Pinnacle for my 50th Birthday in 2014 (surely I will be able to do it by then?).

This time last year if I entered a fun run I wanted to apologise to other runners for being there.

This time last year I didn’t think I was a real runner.

FAKE RUNNER

This time last year despite the fears, the love of running had been unlocked through months and months of determination.  The transformation of me into a runner was well on the way… I just hadn’t acknowledged it.

How things can change in the space of 12 months.  Today marks the anniversary of the first post on Unsporty Women Can Run.

smile-you-re-one-1st-birthday-cake-candle-708-p

Today I’m preparing for the Point to Pinnacle in just over eight weeks.  I’ve been brave enough to bring this event a whole 12 months forward and to try it for my 49th Birthday.  (And training is going well… so far so good!)

Today I haven’t done a marathon but I KNOW I could prepare for this distance and it’s firmly on my concrete wish-list.  When will it be?  Possibly the Ross Marathon in 2014 or maybe the Cadbury Marathon in January 2015.

Today I’ve successfully run a half-marathon 🙂

Today I’m a member of TWO running clubs!  And the running-bouncers didn’t stop me from joining, I was welcomed and encouraged. In fact I know that running-bouncers don’t even exist!

Today I look back and I have completed a 10km event.  My goal was to run all the way and finish – I did that in a sub-60 minute time (just)!

Today I feel comfortable going to see the Osteo and Sports Masseuse when things are not quite right and as a result my knees are fine.

Today I can say I am a runner.  Me, the Unsporty Woman is no longer transforming herself, she is transformed.  Ta Da!  She is a runner who can join the start of a fun run and feel like she belongs.

meLL

Today I have running friends.

Running Blogger Friends…

Yes, I have special friends here in the blogosphere who I have come to care for greatly.  I look forward to your posts, to hear how your running is going, your holidays, your family, your work… the funny stories and successes, the recipes that you share…  But sometimes I get my tissues out and cry when I hear of struggles, bad times, negative things that are impacting on your life and when I do hear things like this I send you all the positive energy that I can find and wish you well hoping that these hard times will soon be over.  Thank you for sharing your running and life journey with me through your blog.  I have been inspired beyond what I thought was possible.  I have learnt so much about running, helpful things, stretches, running technique, diet, about running gear and how to avoid injuries.  I worry about you when I don’t see your posts.  I check to make sure I haven’t missed you in the reader and if you are taking a break I hope that you are ok.  I appreciate your words.  Thank you fellow running blogger for everything that you share with me.

The Local Running Community

This time last year parkrun was an unknown to me.  Today through parkrun I’ve met so many lovely people.  This community would have to be the most inclusive bunch I’ve ever had anything to do with.  It’s so good to get and run with like-minded people and then to be able to talk and chat about running with them.  About good runs and bad, about hopes and dreams, about successes and things that we are still working on (and no one glazes over with a bored look!).  I’ve loved the few runs that I’ve done with the Launceston Athletic Club and all the local Fun Runs… and it’s been wonderful to join The Running Group.  My running confidence has increased dramatically since the beautiful advent of Launceston parkrun in November last year.  parkrun has been the catalyst that has given me confidence to take my running further than just pounding out kms and hoping for the best, but to be able to dream really big dreams and see them as realities that I can achieve.

Looking forwards?  Point to Pinnacle is just around the corner. It truly is my Holy Grail of running events, that marker I am looking to reach in my running journey.  After November what will be in store?  There is a whole range of events I’ve found out about from trail runs to nice flat runs, long distance runs to shorter distance runs… This time last year my running dreams were restricted by doubt, but where I am now there are no restrictions… if I can do all of this in one year the sky is the limit.  And do you know what?  If I can transform myself into a runner ANYONE can!  Just make that decision to put on your running shoes, get out the door and dream some dreams.

Happy running 🙂

22 thoughts on “Looking back, looking forwards

  1. Congrats! It doesn’t matter what your pace per mile is or how far you run, everyone is a runner no matter the level. That is not what defines you, but rather the will you have to get off the couch and do something! Look forward to hearing about your success about Point to Pinnacle!

  2. Congratulations on all the awesome milestones you’ve reached and all the goals you’ve conquered! I look forward to reading about the next 12 months of your journey!

  3. Woohoo happy blog birthday! I can’t believe how much you’ve achieved in a year you’re doing absolutely awesomely so far and here’s to point to pinnacle being a huge success!
    You are a real inspiration to me when I am struggling through my 5k knowing that I’m not the only one who has struggled and made it – I now have to conquer the whole joining a club thing!
    x

    • Awww thanks Emma, that is just lovely to hear! I’m so glad that my little running story is encouraging you on. Running with a group has been the most unexpected joy and helped so much with confidence. I hope you give it a try to see if it’s for you 🙂 xxx

  4. You’re post really made me think. I have recently started running. I am on week 4 of the couch to 5k program now and have been running 3x a week. I have never enjoyed running and I am trying to learn to like it now. The quote on being a “real runner” is what made me think. I don’t know at what point in my journey I can call myself a “runner”. I have always kind of envied people who are “runners”. Yet I don’t know what the qualifications are to be a runner really… I still can’t call myself a runner comfortably I guess because I have only been running often for a month now. Maybe when I finish the couch to 5k program I can say I am a runner.

    • Thanks for the comment and all the very best with the couch to 5km program. You sound like a real live runner to me! Only qualification you need is to be able to lace up running shoes and go out and run. Well done for what you have achieved so far, keep dreaming running dreams and you will get there 🙂

      • Just try your hardest! Give it all you’ve got. Go out nice and slowly and when you think you have to stop just imagine how wonderful you’ll feel to do it and push through 🙂 It took me months and months to be able to run for a full 20 minutes, just keep at it, don’t give up!

  5. Great post, great work and congratulations on where you’ve come in a year! I’m waiting in anticipation for the P2P write up about how you rocked it!
    Also, sounds like you’ve outgrown your blog title…
    Seems to me that sportywomancanrun!

    • hehe Bernie, I’m still unsporty 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement! I hope I rock it. I met an old school friend today by chance, haven’t seen her since the early 80’s, she’s done the P2P FIVE times! She gave me some great tips.

Leave a Reply

