30 days to go

Have a look to the right of the screen… the counter has gone from months to days.

30 days to go!

In 30 days at about this time (10:30am) I hope to be on the last third of the mountain course that will take me from Wrest Point on the Derwent River, Hobart Tasmania, all the way to the Pinnacle of Mt Wellington.

Husband will be finished, most members of The Running Group will be finished.  As with all runs we do together I can imagine them congregating together, looking at their watches, estimating when us slower ones will reach the finish.  Occasionally looking down the road to see if they can see us…

AND then…. When we all finish… happy dance time!

This is my dream.  Nice, don’t you think?

But it’s more than a dream, it has been months (and in my case a few years) of psyching myself up for this The World’s Toughest Half Marathon.  21.4kms with a climb of 1250m in altitude. It’s more than a dream it’s a plan.  An ambition that has seen those preparing for it put in km after km of uphill running steps.

I’m SO EXCITED!

This week the weather has been having a bearing on my training because it is freezing: gale force winds coupled with snow down to 300m AND I’ve had a head cold.  Husband and I have still managed to run just over 50kms this week which is a first for Husband. And we have put in the hills like no ones business! I am a hill runner, I can run up hills is my favourite hill running mantra.

I’m still nervous but feeling very pumped.  With each day we are little bit more ready, a little bit fitter and a little bit more able to run all the way up that mountain.

I hope your dreams and plans are coming together… running is so much more than putting one foot in front of the other.  It is a way to create dreams and in the process discover exactly who we are… strong, capable and lovers of life.

Happy running 🙂

18 thoughts on “30 days to go

  1. Oh, well done to you and your hubby! I love the way you`ve tackled all your training to date with such verve and gusto. That big mountain won`t know what it hit!

  2. I love this post so inspiring for me to keep going and tackle the hills I absolutely hate – although everyone loves a downhill!
    I am so proud of you and husband for taking this on it’s a mammoth challenge but I know you’re going to completely rock it and I cannot wait to hear all about it and see the pics of you at the end with your medals with that awesome smile that says ‘See doubters I bloody well killed it’
    x

    • Awww thanks Em 🙂 I’m loving your confidence and encouragement very much! xxx

      You will be a hill conqueror too, just keep chipping away at them, they are worth it for the swoosh back down but mostly for that amazing feeling at the top.

Leave a Reply

