Last long run done

Thursday evening saw Husband and I cruising along for our last long run.  We had hoped to get into Launceston to run with The Running Group tonight (Friday) but due to staff shortages we weren’t going to make it in time.  So we decided to bring our last long run forward a day and do it last night.  Just as well too, today has been raining all day and the temperature didn’t get higher than 8°C out here on the farm.  Brrrr.  As I type the rain is pounding on the window and the fire is crackling away – it’s rather nice but it is spring, it should be getting warmer not wintry 🙂

Last night’s run was pretty good.  It took both of us almost 5kms to settle into the run but once we did, we both were feeling lots of contentment and certainty and we truly did cruise (16kms in 1:49:50).  We were feeling pretty good that we were out there doing it; running step after running step, uphill and downhill, getting the job done in quietness and peace.  It was a bit windy and cold.  There were blackening clouds over The Great Western Tiers; those clouds threatened to dump on us at any moment.  They didn’t.  A few sprinkles were all we had.

(www.fitsugar.com)

(www.fitsugar.com)

At the end we were both smiling.  It was an effort to start running last night but we were glad that we did.  Both of us had had busy days and we were tired.  It was late before we could start which didn’t help.  Arriving home post run at 9pm was late, but we were glad to say that we had done our last long run.

last long run

Today I’ve had a massage with the very lovely A.  She ran the Point to Pinnacle last year and will be doing so again this year.  She is such a good masseuse!  No better than good.  She finds all those muscles with strange names that I didn’t even know existed and massages and pummels until they are smooth and flexible and released.   A little while into the massage A said, You know Annie, I’m so impressed with how far you’ve come with your running.  You are going to do very well next Sunday.  I was so humbled by this statement of belief that a little tear spilled out of my closed eyes.  Thank you A.  Your care and professional expertise has certainly been a huge part of my running journey – and I appreciate this very much and especially your words of encouragement and belief.

With the last long run done it is now time to fully trust in my training.  There is nothing more that I can do, it’s just keeping the fitness on a steady simmer for the next nine days and taking some time to rest.  The last few days before the P2P look like this:

  • Saturday – Recovery 5km
  • Sunday – Slow undulating 12km
  • Monday – Rest
  • Tuesday – Hill repeats – 5km
  • Wednesday – Short fartlek session
  • Thursday – Rest
  • Friday – Rest
  • Saturday – A walk
  • Sunday – Point to Pinnacle 21.4kms

And what is the weather saying for the P2P?

Best-Weather-Apps

At this stage the long range forecast is for a top of 18°C and low of 7°C with light showers.  That would be great!  It will still be very cold as we run towards the pinnacle of Mt Wellington, but with the right gear we will all be fine.  This weekend we have snow forecast to the 1000m mark which would put going the full distance of the race in question.

We can’t control the weather so what will be will be.  Tomorrow is Launceston parkrun’s first birthday.  The weather looks like it will be turning on more rain.  Oh well.  I’m volunteering tomorrow and it will be a big one!  I am graduating from marshalling to handing out finishing tokens.  So exciting!  And there is birthday cake.  Rain won’t dampen the wonderful celebration of this first birthday.  We are so lucky to have a parkrun near by!

Happy running 🙂

8 thoughts on “Last long run done

  1. Handing out finishing tokens made me smile when I volunteered at my local parkrun! Loved seeing everyone come in and giving congratulations to everyone whether they were first in or last in!
    Wow I cannot believe it’s only nine days left til P2P you are going to be amazing cannot wait to see how things go and I will be cheering you on from here willing you up those hills as I am sure will all your readers 🙂
    x

    • I’m quite nervous about my new volunteering role hehe Thanks for the encouragement, it will be fun to cheer everyone over the line.

      Yes, P2P has come around so quickly now. This time next week we will be chilling in Hobart on the last day before the big day!

  2. You sound so well prepared for the run, you’re going to do great!
    Will look out for you, don’t think I’ll be taking part now as I’ve ignored all my own sensible advice and pushed too hard in the last couple of weeks (after 3 weeks travelling in UK and Singapore) Currently sat with ice on a very sore knee, feeling sorry for myself!
    Good luck and have fun!

    • Thanks Samantha. I’m sorry to hear that you won’t be there; I hope the knee comes right very soon! It sounds like you have been very busy with all the travelling! The good thing about the mountain is that it will be there next year. Thanks for your best wishes 🙂

      • Yes, you’re right, it will still be there when I’m better prepared. Hopefully I can get the knee sorted and focus on the Cadbury Half which is my goal and more achievable for me right now!
        Love the blog, you’re really inspiring 🙂

      • Thanks Samantha 🙂 I’m doing the Cadbury Half too! It would be cool to say hello and cheer each other on! A Half Marathon, even a chocolate one is still huge!!! All the best with your training 🙂 We have our longest run planned for Boxing Day, so not sure how good that’s going to be after Christmas festivities the day before.

  3. Sounds like you’re all sorted for the race. You’ve put in the miles and the hills – I’ve not seen elevation graphs like yours on any other blog I read – so it’s time to enjoy the taper!
    It’s cool you’re volunteering at Parkrun as well. Even though I’ve never done one, I think it is a fantastic movement and brings running to so many people, and it’s volunteers like you that keep it going. Enjoy the cake. You’ve earned it!

Leave a Reply

