Dedicating the kilometres

Earlier in the year a fellow blogger completed the London Marathon.  I have really enjoyed her blog with the lead up to the Marathon and then all the things she is doing post Marathon.  She is also a fellow parkrunner.  I’m shamelessly going to plagiarise Shaz’s idea to dedicate each km of the Point to Pinnacle.

The good thing about kms compared with miles is that we have more of them to play with.  If you haven’t read Shaz’s blog, please visit Shazruns.

There is a BUT however.  The BUT is that should the weather be snowy or deemed unsafe for the course to go all the way to the Pinnacle, the course will be cut short or redirected and therefore there won’t be the full 21.4kms.  If this should happen I will still be dedicating my running steps… just not quite so many for each dedication.

Dear Weather, please be kind, I so want to do this and so do my other 1999 fellow P2Pers.

Starting at the Wrest Point we go from sea level on a bit of rise and cruise mostly along a flat course for the start… coursemap Kilometre 1 The Running Group.  To Coach C and his lovely wife T, to L and L, K, J, M, L, C, M, R, J and B, L and everyone.  Thank you so much for accepting me into your group with such a huge welcome.  For all the kms we have run together, for all the encouragement and joint celebration of successes.  THANKYOU so very much!

Kilometre 2 Launceston parkrun.  I thought that parkrun would be a weekly 5km run, but it is so much more than this.  It is an opportunity to indulge and celebrate all things running with likeminded people.  It is joyous and happy, it is encouraging and hopeful.  Thank you!

We start to climb… to wend and wind around city streets…up into the leafy hilly suburbs of Hobart…

Kilometre 3 Mintie and Poppy.  My gorgeous cats who give me so much love and make life so sweet.  I love you both so much.  Mintie you have been such a good friend through all my single days.

Kilometre 4 Westbury Fun Run.  My first ever fun run.  When I did this run the P2P was an unattainable dream on a fairy-tale wish list.  Through being part of this fun run I began to smash my concept of myself as a runner.  Unsporty Women can run fun runs.

Kilometre 5 To E and A.  E, my beautiful Osteopath.  Without you my niggles and misaligned patella would have stopped me from running any great distance.  Thank you so much!  A, my beautiful masseuse who is running the P2P.  Your massages have really kept me going and your encouragement has been like a balm too!

Kilometre 6 Sharon.  My dear friend who has been my rock so many times.

Kilometre 7 My New Zealand family.  Thank you for loving me and accepting me.
Husband’s children and grandchildren.  I think they all think I’m a bit of a nut, but I love their Dad and look after him so that’s all the qualification that’s needed for them.

Yes, I'm going to get to the top! A runner's high of epic proportions I hope!

Yes, I’m going to get to the top! A runner’s high of epic proportions I hope!

From here there is a little bit of flatness but then the steepness goes up a notch.  We leave behind the houses and get into the bush.  The road will start to wind around and there will be some heartbreaking switchbacks to get up and around.  We are a third of the way.  The photo above was taken on one of the two occasions that Husband and I ran the first 7kms of the P2P track about 10 weeks ago.

Kilometre 8 Angela from Mind Margins.  I haven’t seen a blog post from you in a long while.  I can only imagine how sick you are.  My thoughts are with you and your family and I truly hope for a miracle x

Kilometre 9 Catherine.  You are not here.  Breast cancer took you away prematurely.  Wish you were still here, no doubt we would be friends on facebook even if we didn’t see each other much, I could bore you sensless with tales of running.

Kilometre 10 Craig. I’m so sorry you had to leave.  This kilometre is a tough one.  Almost halfway.  You suffered but you are now at peace.

Kilometre 11 My Nanny.  Died so young from breast cancer.  If you had been diagnosed today I’m sure you would have survived.  My 13 year old self will always feel cheated from having her beloved grandmother taken away far too soon.

Kilometre 12 Karen and Robert.  My wonderful life long friends.  You might not be runners but you sure know what endurance is.  I love you both very much.

Kilometre 13 Bootcamp.  To Miss Megan and all my fellow bootcampers.  You have put up with me going on and on and on about P2P for over two years and have been so encouraging.  Bootcamp has taught me to endure through the burn of muscles and the exhaustion.  I will be putting this to the test from here on in.

We reach The Springs.  The course gets even steeper.  The trees start to thin and we get into true mountain territory.  It will be getting very cold.

Kilometre 14 L, my lovely fellow bootcamper and now running friend.  It’s so much fun to have a running buddy!!!  I’m looking forward to many fun runs in the future.

Kilometre 15 Mum and Dad.  No matter what I do, what I say, you are always there for me.  Thank you for being you and for all the generous amazing things you have done for me.

The course has been steadily climbing.  At the 17.5km mark we reach The Chalet and here the steepness will pass from heartbreaking to soul destroying…  we will all be digging deep and reaping the rewards of months of hill training as we chip away at the incline… one little running step after little running steep, getting closer to the top with each passing moment.  The temperature will drop even more. DSCF4393

Kilometre 16 My gorgeous son Simeon.
Kilometre 17 My gorgeous daughter Isabelle.
Kilometre 18 My gorgeous daughter Anna-Feliz and her man Hamish.

16, 17 and 18.  It will be getting tough here.  You three are the lights in my life. I can look back and see that despite everything you are choosing to journey through life with such positive attitudes.  You are all pursuing your dreams and moving forwards.  I am the proudest mother alive. Your childhood wasn’t always great but you have chosen to shine regardless.

Kilometre 19 Miss Melee.  Thank you so much for sharing your story with me and for all the inspiration I receive from this AND all the encouragement you give.

Here is where the steepness backs off a just a little.  The views (should there be no cloud cover) will be amazing.  We will be able to see the beautiful Derwent River for miles and miles.  This is going to be a tremendous boost and the key to dig in and keep running.  mt wellington

Kilometre 20 The running blogging community.  Reading your blogs has taught me so much.  I get so much inspiration to keep going from your words. Thank you!  The Running Therapist, Bernie, Tom, Mike, All Seasons Cyclist, Simone, Red Hen, Em, Click Three TimesCouch to Running, Paving the Way, New Heart Running, Dyno Mum, Running for Jethro, Shaz, The Tri Road, Running in NJ, Running Wild, Run Kiwi Run, Run Ferro, Hysterical Runner, The Tortoise Chronicles, John, Gaining Pace, Rekkless Running and everyone I have missed! And a very special mention of Plodding Along Nicely xxx

Kilometre 21 Husband.  My soul mate, best friend and the main reason that I run.  We have endured so much together in such little time.  I love you with all my heart.  Want to try a Marathon next?

Kilometre 21.4 This part is mine.  My 49th birthday present.  My Holy Running Grail.  If I am here I have made it.  What can I say but I will have done it.

If I can get to this point in running, being on the cusp of giving my Holy Running Grail the very best shot I have… you can follow your dreams too, be brave and chip away at your running mountain.  With time, training and dedication ANYTHING is possible, if I can, anyone can!

Happy running 🙂

13 thoughts on “Dedicating the kilometres

  1. Thanks for making me cry on a Sunday evening. Such a touching post. I have no doubt that you will make it to your holy grail. Across the other side of the world, I am in awe of what you are about to attempt. Wishing you a successful climb. X

  2. You have a way with words!!! Thanks for inspiring me too. I love that the blogging community is so great that we can motivate each other in ways that never would happen because we are so far away from each other. I look forward to hearing how your run goes and maybe I will go out and run a hill or two in a way of cheering you on for Sunday! You can do it and I know the weather will cooperate.

  3. Beautiful, tear jerking post. Lovely idea dedicating each km! It will give you something to focus on along your climb. Thanks unsportywomencanrun 🙂 see you at the pinnacle with our tissues and hugs all round.

    • Thank you xxx ever since I read Shaz’s post months ago I planned this post. I can’t believe all the plans are slowly becoming reality. I’m looking forward to seeing your smiling face complete with finishers medal as I plod over the finishing line 🙂 🙂 🙂 Then that happy dance!

  4. Fab post! Especially love the final question on number 21 – can’t wait to hear that answer! Good luck (though I’m sure luck has nothing to do with it!) 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 Husband and I have tentatively planned for a marathon in 2015. We’ll do a few more half marathons next year and perhaps some trail runs before we tackle the biggy! Some good luck on Sunday would be most appreciated, thank you 🙂

  5. I absolutely love this idea and when I do my first half next year (not booked but hopefully) I am definitely doing this!
    Also happy to be one of the many people willing you on 🙂 You are going to be amazing and I am so proud of you for everything you have put into this challenge already can’t wait to hear you’ve done it and you’re enjoying that glass of wine at the end 🙂
    x

  6. Pingback: Changing Plans | shazruns

Leave a Reply

