The real reason for running on Sunday

Now let me be completely honest.

L and I are running the Cadbury Half Marathon on Sunday.  Why?

For the love of running?  No

For the joy of running friendship?  No

For L to join the half-crazy-marathon club and me to cement my love of this distance with half marathon number three?  No

Why are we running? 

We are running for chocolate!

imagesCAHYL71R

When L started to get interested in running events late last year (she has been a runner for a long time, just hadn’t done any events) she asked me what I had planned for the coming months.  When the Cadbury Half Marathon was mentioned, without a word of a lie she said…

MMMMM CHOCOLATE!

You could literally see the light of chocolate lust flicker in her eyes. Despite her fit frame and slim physique, lurking in her mind is a possessed choc-a-holic.

She even eats it for breakfast.  (insert shaking of the Unsporty Woman’s head in utter disbelief).

imagesCALOQ4EQ

How can she do that and still stay so slim???

634482

The start and finish of this event is at the Cadbury Chocolate Factory in Hobart.  The home of chocolate in Tasmania.  It’s made there; chocolate mecca.

Pre-race (yes that’s pre-race as in BEFORE we run) there will be:

  • Samples of chocolate
  • Help-yourself buffets of chocolate
  • Hot chocolates
  • Chocolate milkshakes
  • AND best of all, access to the factory shop (usually you have to pay an entry fee to get in)

In the recent email about race details we were told that we can eat all these chocolate goodies before the race or take them with us…  on the run, take the chocolate with us to run with!!!  Yesterday while L and I were doing our last 5km run before the big day she was telling me all about this email (I hadn’t read it at that stage).  Her eyes lit up with pure joy and happiness.

1235189_163068290561538_1184316502_n

So this running buddy of mine will make a huge quantum leap from her first fun run in September of 5km, to her second in October of 6.4km right up to a half marathon all because of chocolate.

What can I say other than true love is true love.  And there is chocolate love here, pure, decadent chocolate love.

LOGO129920166454207734[1]

So on Sunday if you see the lovely L dressed in blue and me dressed in pink please don’t think we are virtuously running a half marathon for the love of running, physical fitness, for the joy of running friendship or even for the thrill of a challenge.  We are running for chocolate.

Happy running 🙂

PS Oh and we are running for the medal!  The fact that it has Cadbury on the medal is a huge incentive hehe chocolate bling!

1510632_198834130318287_1288800317_n

32 thoughts on “The real reason for running on Sunday

  1. Wow! Sounds great! I used to live in Birmingham, the home of Cadbury’s and they never did anything like this as far as I know! They did give out a couple of samples on the Cadbury World factory tour though.

    • Thanks 🙂 we did have factory tours but not any more due to OH and S. Running is booming in Tasmania, it would seem lots of organisations are getting into sponsoring events. This one started in 1984. I’m so looking forward to it and there are record entries this year!

    • You will love it 🙂 The course looks good, but that’s only secondary to all the chocolate. We have purchased a VIP pass which will give us access to even more chocolate, massages, coffee and a designated area to chill in (and extra portaloos!).

  2. I’m with you …couldn’t do it before or during the race but I would be elbowing little old ladies out of the way following for that chocolate buffet. You think I do all this exercise for the joy of running? 🙂

  3. I’d run for chocolate. Oh what am I saying! I already run so I can eat all the chocolate I want. Good luck and have fun. I would probably wait to have that chocolate milkshake until after the race! 🙂

  4. Good luck for Sunday, it would be a brave soul (or a very strong stomach) to face all that chocolate before a half marathon but fun for after! I’ll be there supporting my son who is doing the 5 km but sadly I’ve had to pull out as I’ve still got very painful shin splints. When I entered for the half some months ago, I thought I was well on track for my first half, with my long runs up to f18-22 kms, having no problems and loving it, unfortunately since then things haven’t gone so well and I’ve not run in 2014 yet 😦
    Reading your posts cheers me up no end, thank you 🙂
    I will be on the lookout for you still and hope we can say hello!

    • I’m really sorry to hear this Samantha! It sounds like you are doing the right thing though to rest it for a longer period. I hope the cycling and cross training are going ok for you. All the best to your son for the 5km. I have a few running friends doing that one as well. I’m glad my posts are cheering you up – it’s only a matter of time until you are much better. I hope we can say hello on Sunday, that would be so cool to be able to do that!!! Thanks for your good luck wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

