Aoraki Mt Cook Marathon

The Point to Pinnacle was and will always be my Holy Running Grail. Hanging on the hatstand in our lounge room is a finisher’s medal. A medal that represents months and months of physical and mental training. Training that paid off on the day – I made it! I made it along with some very special people from The Running Group. I started the journey with just my Husband Pauly and finished it with a wonderful group of likeminded people. It was amazing. I look back on this event with feelings of happiness, joy and achievement. Unsporty Women can run – they can run up mountains, they can make goals and slowly work their way to achieving them.

The next major milestone on my running wish list is to run a marathon. The one that has stolen my heart is the Aoraki Mt Cook Marathon on the South Island of New Zealand. The scenery is simply spectacular. I’ve been to the South Island once and to say it is beautiful is a total understatement.

This marathon is a point to point. Runners are bussed out to the starting line and then run 42.2kms to the finishing line. Point to point is my favourite sort of running course – start at the start and then run to the finish, simple, straightforward and with mountain views like Aaoraki Mt Cook? Heaven on earth.

I knew the course was undulating and rises around 400m over the course but I didn’t realise that a lot of the up is right at the end. Recently the course profile was published on the facebook page for the event. My initial thoughts were: Oh My Goodness! Is this a wise choice for a first marathon??? Perhaps this is bit too much for marathon number one? Pauly thinks not. Being into figures he analysed the gradient and assured me that compared to Point to Pinnacle it will be not quite so steep. Yes but, that was 21.4kms this is 42.2kms!

Time will tell.

Today is the inaugural Aaoraki Mt Cook Marathon. I’ve been checking facebook for photos. It’s a greyish day there today and looks a bit chilly.  I truly hope all the runners have a wonderful run. They’ve been running for just over an hour as I type. I’m wishing them all positive energy and lots of running dreams come true. I hope to be there with my beloved husband next year and perhaps, you never know, with a few of my beautiful running friends from Tasmania and perhaps a few of my New Zealand family too.

Foot Update

This week has been the most varied week of exercise I’ve had ever. Yes, ever in my life is not an understatement.  Keeping those exercise endorphins up has been very important to keeping my spirits up – positive thinking is a great healer and thinking bad things doesn’t make anything better!

  • Monday – last run for a while, 7kms on the farm roads
  • Tuesday – low impact Outside Fit Class
  • Wednesday – Aqua Fit
  • Thursday – rest
  • Friday – first visit to the gym; intervals on the spin bike
  • Saturday – 13km bike ride: Paul ran 7.5kms and I did laps up and back the farm roads
  • Sunday – Tabata session with the Sexy Legs and Arms workouts and a full on abs set

Do I miss running? Oh my I do! It’s autumn here, one of the nicest times to run. Cool but sunny, perfect running conditions. But I’m not going to do anything to upset my foot. The pain has gone, it just feels very stiff throughout the whole foot.  I’m stretching and rolling and doing all the right things to treat Plantar Fasciitis.  I’m looking forward to seeing the Osteo tomorrow and seeing what she thinking about it. I did try a few running steps yesterday (just out on our deck) and it wasn’t uncomfortable, just stiff.

Dear Aoraki Mt Cook Marathon, I might be off running for a little while but I’m keeping my fitness up and I hope that this time next year I will get to meet you xxx

Happy running 🙂

29 thoughts on “Aoraki Mt Cook Marathon

  1. Good on you for adapting your exercise routine to help your poor foot. Its a royal pain but I don’t ever recall you actually having a holiday from running so maybe that’s just what you need right now. I hope the osteo has good news.

  2. Have just finished the half here at Mt Cook. It was an absolutely stunning run, you should definitely come do it next year :-). I think Queenstown is still my preference for a first marathon. That last here at Mt Cook, while not steep steep is long – I passed about 3 people going up it. Was bad enough at the end of 21.1km, would hate to have it at the end of 42! 🙂 Will do a full recap (with pictures) when I get home. Am about to go put some on my Facebook page now 🙂

    • Thanks Emily 🙂 how awesome that you were there doing it. I would like to do Queenstown too but that will have to wait until 2016 (my eldest daughter is getting married in November 2015). I’ll look forward to your recap post.

  3. Can you see me wagging my finger? 🙂 Keep up the great variation in exercise and pretty please don’t do any running yet. Ok now you can tell me to zip it.

  4. Oh my god you are brave to even think about that marathon. Hope the foot mends and you get to do it. Me here in the uk will be watching and reading!

  5. Anne-Marie, why am I not surprised you chose that course as your first marathon? We’ve never met but I know you’re a woman who loves a challenge and will always rise to the occasion!
    Rest up, get your foot sorted and enjoy the buildup to your first marathon!

    • Thanks Bernie 🙂 There’s just something about hills and mountains that tell me to run them…slowly 🙂 Another foot appointment today, hopefully I’ll get to the bottom of it, or perhaps that’s the sole of it (hehe).

  6. Sounds very Idyllic for a first Full marathon.
    I am still to pick a Full to complete, also sometime next year. I thought about Wellington, or maybe Rotorua.
    Not sure yet either if I would rather focus on trail or road running, trail is where my heart lies 🙂
    Maybe even see you at Aoraki 🙂
    Good luck on the PF 🙂

    • That would be lovely to see you at Aoraki 🙂 There are so many wonderful runs in New Zealand! Trail running sounds wonderful – there’s something about being out in the wilderness.

  7. Pingback: It’s all about Chocolate | Unsporty Women Can Run

Leave a Reply

