Huey Dewey and Louie Training Run

Earlier in the year Pauly, our beautiful running buddy Louise and I were dubbed Huey, Dewey and Louie by another of our lovely running buddies, Janette. We all quite like it. The three of us have done bootcamp together for a few years. Each week I would be talking about running and the different events that Pauly and I had started to do. The running bug rubbed off on Louise and last year she dipped her toe into two shorter fun runs and then took the amazing plunge into a half-marathon when we ran the Cadbury half together in January this year.

Huey_Dewey_Louie

Louise is a good runner, a very good runner! She has amazing form and endurance. She was a runner in her high school days and while events are new to her she has always loved running and been running for fitness and enjoyment for a long long time.

Huey, Dewey and Louie have had some fantastic runs together, both in events and training runs.

The great thing about our training runs is that they work well for all three of us.

  • Huey (Pauly) enjoys company when he runs and often needs a bit of a push out the door to get him running, a scheduled run with Louie provides that push.
  • Louie (Louise) enjoys company too and likes the distraction of a good old chat. She often makes the comment as to how fast the time seems to fly when running with company compared to on her own. She also gets a slightly slower run when she runs with me which mixes up her runs and gives her something different.
  • Dewey (me!) I love company too and a chat. Although when I run with Louie I try a bit harder, so it might be a slower run for her, but it is a lot faster for me.

Last night we had our first run together in absolutely ages. Often Louise and I will go for a weekly run but the two of us have had so much on lately that it hasn’t been happening. Pauly comes when he can and last night even he was keen for a run.

We ran a hilly 12kms with an average pace of 6:00 minutes/km. This is pretty fast for me over this distance. This is the same pace I ran the 16.6km Lilydale Lope last Saturday, the difference being that last night was only a training run, not an event! (I wrote about the Lilydale Lope in my previous post).

l and h

Huey and Louie with Dewey behind the camera bringing up the rear.

The next big adventure for Huey, Dewey and Louie is the Run Melbourne Half-Marathon in two months.

This will be the very first race outside of Tasmania for all three of us. In Tasmania the biggest running event attracts around 4,000 runners. This one in Melbourne attracts runners in the thousands and thousands! We are going to be running with about 25,000 runners. That’s a lot of people to wave to and say hello – my arms are going to be permanently waving for the entire 21.1kms!

But it’s ok. I’m going to have Louie right beside me. Two little Tasmanians in a sea of mainland Australians. But we also have some other lovely running buddies from The Running Group running as well – they are joining Pauly in the second fastest wave. But good old Louie is going to plug along with me in the last wave.

AND Louie is going to try to get Dewey to run this half in 2:00:00. Mmmm not sure if I will but I am going to give it my very best shot! That means taking 11 minutes off my half-marathon PB. But then I’ve slowly been bringing back my times this year with PBs across all distances apart from the 5km. So who knows.

The really good thing is that Louie and I have the same ideas about running. We like to try and do our best. But the heart of running is running all the way and finishing. I think we can do that for Run Melbourne.

Of course there is a medal involved - this is most important to Louie and Dewey (http://amillionshades.wordpress.com/)

Of course there is a medal involved – this is most important to Louie and Dewey
(http://amillionshades.wordpress.com/)

I never expected to make friends through running and I have made some absolute treasures.   Ladies from The Running Group have come to be very special to me – I love following their running journeys, having a coffee after a run and the odd parmi at the pub with them.  We talk about life, family, work, everything.  And it’s just fantastic to have a like-minded running buddy right in the little town where we live.  These fellow-lady runners encourage me constantly – they smile and say good job, they listen and we share our running dreams together. Dreams that say nothing is impossible with running, we just need to chip away at it and try our best.

~ If you can dream it – you can achieve it ~

Happy running 🙂

PS it’s a special weekend. My beautiful Brown-eyed Daughter #1 is coming home from Western Australia with her betrothed (the gorgeous H) for their engagement party. THEN on Sunday we are off northwards to the warmth of tropical North Queensland.  Bye bye frosty and freezing Tasmania hello warmth and sunshine 🙂

14 thoughts on “Huey Dewey and Louie Training Run

  1. Have a wonderful weekend and a lovely celebration. Then some sunshine sounds fabulous. You will be in my mind with your positive mantras on Sunday when I do the half here. I can assure you my time goals bear no resemblance to yours. I have to save my energy for waving 🙂

  2. I love your nicknames! You always have such positive posts. It’s nice to hear about all your running buddies. As for your time goal, you’ve got lots of time to work on it! Enjoy your weekend and your tropical, sunny getaway 🙂

  3. I rarely get to run with someone else, but I really enjoy it when I do. My favorite race was the Country Music Half Marathon in Nashville, TN with my son pacing me. What a huge difference that race was with a great son keeping his dad moving at a PR pace (and giving me GU gels along the way).

Leave a Reply

