Into the warm

As I write this I have my feet up on a balcony, if I lift my gaze I take in palm trees and big leafy plants with exotic tropical flowers. We are starting our Port Douglas break today. Port Douglas is in far North Queensland, Australia.

The weekend that was, was so wonderful! We celebrated Brown-eyed daughter’s engagement to the Gorgeous H. It was a special night with the Engaged Couple surrounded by the people they love; friends and family travelled from far and wide and in actual fact there were people from every state in Australia. The speeches echoed how happy both families are at these two taking this next step of commitment.

The Engaged Couple

The Engaged Couple

Son #1, Blondie Daughter #1 and Brown-eyed Daughter #1

Son #1, Blondie Daughter #1 and Brown-eyed Daughter #1

Running has been on the back burner. With lots of family and friends to catch up and multiple trips to the airport we were on the go for three days straight. This is where running friendships become so much more than just people we hit the road with. Over our Monday night parmi after running with The Running Group, as soon as we mentioned our busy weekend plans the lovely B and J immediately offered to help us. They are looking after both our cars and taxi driving us backwards and forwards to the airport. We are so lucky that running has introduced us to some of life’s angels.

IMG_5626

We missed out on parkrun which was really disappointing because the lovely L and L ran their 50th parkrun that day – what an amazing running journey these two are on. I remember the first time I saw them on a parkrun. I was passing Mr L, I knew it was him because he had his name on his running top. I’m never going to pass this guy again, his times have gone from middle of the pack to being on the edge of the front runners. And as for his lovely wife, despite an injury that is taking a long time to heal the only time I see her is at the start of a race and then at the end, I might catch a glimpse of her cute curls bobbing in the distance but that’s all. We were sad we couldn’t be there to share this special running milestone.

Ready to go - The Mother of the Bride-to-Be and her Man-in-black

Ready to go – The Mother of the Bride-to-Be and her Man-in-black

Back to Port Douglas. The warm is slowing thawing out my cold Tasmanian bones. We have gone from the temperature struggling to break into double digits to 27ºC of humid tropical embracing warm. I’m in love. Port Douglas has such a laidback feel to it, people are friendly, sun-kissed and relaxed.

First dinner in Port Douglas

First dinner in Port Douglas

What are the plans for the next two weeks?

  • Relax
  • Run
  • Relax
  • Read light-hearted novels
  • Swim
  • Get some tabata work outs in
  • Relax
  • Snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef
  • Swim
  • Eat a no-sugar low-carb diet
  • Run
  • Eat Barramundi and Coral Trout
  • Swim
  • Relax
  • Get a massage
  • Run a parkrun or two
  • Relax

I think that covers it (oh and I’m sure wine is perfectly allowed on a no-sugar low-carb diet isn’t it?).

Breakfast

Breakfast

Sometimes, no frequently, life is like a treadmill. Routines and the have-tos of life take over.  But this next two weeks is all about taking stock of what’s really important in life and that’s my beautiful Husband. We are going to spend some really good time together doing things we love, being active and eating healthy while taking a whole lots of time to relax the body and the mind.

IMG_5593

How fortunate are we? My gosh we are two of the luckiest people in the entire world! Life is tough on the farm; the constant work routines that never stop but only change slightly with the turning of the seasons. Here we have the opportunity to have two precious weeks out from the routine to charge up the old batteries.

Wish us luck running in the heat and humidity!  I have my running gear on and we are off very soon for a run on the beach.

Happy running 🙂

PS Happy Juneathon to all my fellow bloggers taking part, I’m looking forward to reading all your posts 🙂  I love the inspiration you give through your daily posts during this time, I always feel incredibly motivated by your dedication to fitness, the highs and the lows.

12 thoughts on “Into the warm

  1. Look at you all scrubbed up, nice to get out of the running kit isn’t it? And wow you look fab. Have a lovely two weeks in the sun, you guys certainly have earned it

    • Thanks Shaz 🙂 it was such a wonderful night. We have so many happy memories from it and are so looking forward to the wedding planning. I actually feel so lucky to be here in Port Douglas…like I’ve just won the lottery!

  2. I love Port Douglas! Not sure how I would find running there but the beautiful long beach would certainly be appealing at sunrise, last time we were there I cycled up and down that beach but that was pre running days.
    Sounds like you enjoyed a great family get together and now have 2 wonderful weeks to relax and simply slow down to Port time 🙂

  3. Congratulations on your daughter’s engagement, and your kids are gorgeous!
    I love your last paragraph, the fact that you are satisfied and happy with your life, that is such a blessing!

  4. Congratulations on your daughter’s engagement! You have beautiful kids. It’s nice to see you and your husband all dressed up, you’re so pretty. Enjoy your tropical vacation. I hope it’s everything you want and need to rejuvenate!

  5. such a beautiful family Annie. The party sounds wonderful. Enjoy your vacation and recharging. So important to have that time together when life is so busy. Oh yes and for heavens sake have some wine! 🙂

    • Thanks Sue 🙂 the kidlets scrub up ok somtimes! We are having such a lively time and it’s only day two. And I have a nice supply of wine from Western Australia in the fridge. It tastes even better in the tropics 🙂

Leave a Reply

