Finding the perfect running costume

One of my goals for 2014 is to run a fun run in a costume.

Why?

Good question.

To make it fun and perhaps a little funny too. To demonstrate that I don’t take myself too seriously. That I can turn around and say This running thing? I love it! It’s fun! It’s wonderful! And yes that I don’t take myself too seriously. It also might have just a little bit to do with the fact that in less than four months I’m turning 50 and it will be the start of growing old disgracefully!

But what sort of costume?

The Lego Man running the Run Melbourne half marathon! (https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Running-Group/121799781823)

The Lego Man running the Run Melbourne half marathon! (https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Running-Group/121799781823)

I’ve spent considerable time on my solo runs weighing up different options and then done a little eBaying and googling to see if I could put my ideas into actual fabric.

One idea centred around a cow costume. But other than making it myself I couldn’t find one to buy that would be comfortable to run in.

I did really like this one but it was out of stock and perhaps a little uncomrable for running (http://threelittleprincesses.com/item_463/Candace-The-Cow-Tutu-Outfit-3-Piece-Set.htm)

I did really like this one but it was out of stock and perhaps a little uncomfortable for running (http://threelittleprincesses.com)

I found some beautiful Disney and super hero themed costumes. Oh my goodness, so lovely and so well designed for running. But no, I’m not really a Disney Princess or a super hero type.

I found this one on Etsy - just gorgeous!

I found this one on Etsy – just gorgeous!  Pauly thinks Wonder Woman would be a good choice 😉

In the end I was getting a little desperate. It’s just gone August and the fun run I’m planning to wear it in is in only weeks away now. Well I found something on Sunday afternoon and I bought it.

It’s nothing startling or out of the ordinary. But I think it fits the bill of not taking myself too seriously. Now I’m waiting for it arrive. It’s a one size fits most. Fingers crossed I’m in the most category.

Running in costume?  Perhaps not everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s my way of celebrating life, running and being happy… perhaps making a few people smile.  It’s saying that there are good parts of life and running would have to be one of the best!

Happy running 🙂

26 thoughts on “Finding the perfect running costume

    • I know what you mean…or having something that is scratchy and uncomfortable, I couldn’t do that for a long run. I saw two chaps dressed as Elvis with big wigs doing Run Melbourne…I think this one will be ok and it’s only for a short run 🙂

Leave a Reply

