A happy pace

No long run with Louise today due to another bad night sleep, I couldn’t quite muster up the energy to be ready in time and didn’t feel quite confident enough to go any great distance. But everything has a sliver lining, it’s there somewhere!

This week’s long run called for 16kms but I managed 7kms, a little later in the morning than usual, but I got it done. It was 7kms of total bliss.

I found my happy pace.

From the house I started to run.  Down the driveway, past the Dairy, up to the letter box… down Brocks Roads over the bridge, around the corners and then back home.  It was the perfect running day; cool with a light breeze and just a little overcast.

wpid-20140815_100937.jpg

wpid-20140815_102058.jpg

wpid-20140815_102550.jpg

Nothing out of the ordinary. Certainly a lot slower than usual. But I felt like I could run all day!

I’m thinking I might have found my happy pace.

This 69, she is the oldest cow on the farm.  At 15 she has earned the right to a retirement. Usually cows who are no longer milkable go on the chopper truck, but not 69, for faithful service she and a number of her mates get to retired and die of old age right here on the farm.  He's an old softie my Husband.

This is 69, she is the oldest cow on the farm, I said hello to her as I ran up and then back down the driveway. At 15 she has earned the right to a retirement. Usually cows who are no longer milkable go on the chopper truck. But not 69, for faithful service she and a number of her mates get to retire and die of old age right here on the farm. He’s an old softie my Husband.  Most dairy cows live to be about eight, but Pauly is a good farmer and regularly has cows living to ripe old ages.

 

This is what my watch said about my run... just nice and steady, a run that maintains health and fitness.

This is what my watch said about my run… just nice and steady, a run that maintains health and fitness.

I hope this weekend you find your happy pace…fast or slow or anywhere in between…a pace that makes you smile and nod in contentment that this running thing? It’s a cool thing to do.

Happy running 🙂

PS after a week of quiet I do hope that Janette is up for a happy chat at parkrun….or someone…perhaps Pauly will have to run and chat with me…and Louise is in for a total chewing of the ear next week.  Laryngitis is almost gone!  And this weekend is a special weekend with the launch of the second parkrun in Tasmania – Leanne and Leigh will be at Hobart parkrun, I hope they have a great time 🙂

25 thoughts on “A happy pace

  1. Love the pics, and pleased to hear that you are on the mend. Bless, love the way 69 is standing there just gazing at you, betcha shes thinking ‘mad woman’ *lol*
    Have a lovely weekend too and keep rock’n that AnniTued!!!

    • Thanks CeeJay 🙂 much better thanks. I love how cows are curious but really don’t care too much about what’s going on. She’s a lovely old girl. I hope you have a lovely weekend too 🙂 Always rocking the AnniTude hehe love it!

  2. I love that Pauly has kept the old cows to live out their final years on the farm. No wonder you love him! Glad to hear you are gradually feeling better. Best get the earplugs for friends and family eh? 🙂

    • hehe yes, ear plugs will be necessary. 69 is a lovely old girl, she’s only been retired for just over a year so to milk for that long is quite extraordinary. It’s a hard day when sometimes these old girls have to be euthanised mostly due to wearing out in the hips… there are usually tears from the old farmer. I get such a kick out of the retirement paddock…it’s what life should be for all of us…work hard and then in the latter years get a nice sheltered paddock, sit around all day eating and pleasing ourselves 🙂

  3. Beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing 69 with us. I never knew that about cows, how long they live and give milk. Interesting. That’s pretty nice she gets to retire on the farm 🙂 I’m going out in a few minutes to find my happy pace as you call it. It’s a beautiful morning here for a run too.

    • Thanks Cynthia 🙂 it’s quite heart warming the way Paul cares for the old girls. I love seeing her mooching in the paddock. I hope you found your happy pace 🙂 and so nice to hear you have a lovely day in your corner of the world xxx

  4. Glad to hear you are on the mend and love the cow retirement paddock 🙂
    Hobart Parkrun was fun, bit overcast which is a shame after glorious days this week but a good turnout, well organised, I suspect it will become addictive! Not overly happy with time but at least I have something to work to now 🙂

    • Hello Sam 🙂 I had a sneaky look at the results. .. You did a fantastic time and I hear is a hilly course too! You came in just after my friend Leanne 🙂 parkrun is very addictive but in the best sort of way. I how to come and run the course sometime this year. Throat is better, thank you, but not quite 100% yet.

  5. Thanks! It was a nice course with a few little rises along the way, had already run on Friday and haven’t run 2 days in a row for a long time so the legs felt extra heavy! Looking forward to it again next weekend, although that will be after a night shift so might just leave the watch at home and try to just enjoy it 🙂 I like the way you get all your statistics too. Did your friends enjoy it?
    Hope you continue to recover well, take it easy, no long runs until you feel fully fit again.

    • My friends loved it. The hill was a surprise though. Good idea to leave the watch at home and run to feel. The stats are great, they are a good way to see how far we can go. I’m hoping for a 16km run on Friday 🙂 feeling pretty good today 🙂

  6. The farm looks beautiful and a lovely place to run. Pleased to hear you are on the mend. Sometimes it pays to have a quiet week in your training – come back rested and raring to go – I reckon you will do great in your upcoming half.

  7. This sounds like one of those amazing runs when you feel like you could just put on a pin on the map, anywhere on the map, and just keep running until you get there. I love those! They may not happen often but when they do – man, they make up for all the crappy runs in the world! I love that your husband allows some of the cows to retire and enjoy their last years in the green fields. That’s the kind of farmer I would happily buy all my meat and dairy products from!

    • Gosh you are so right, they sure do make up for all the crappy runs. I felt so alive and happy! He’s a good man my Pauly. He loves and cares for the animals very well. We are often complimented on the quiet temperament of the cows on our farm and think it all stems for the care and concern he gives to them. It is very sweet to see the old girls just mooching around. From what I can see most farmers around here are in a similar mindset – it’s just old fashioned farming that puts the well being of the animal first and then of course production is at it’s peak too! win win really.

      • I can just imagine you almost skipping along these roads with a blissful smile on your face. 🙂 This is how farming should be – I love the sound of it! It is horrible to think of the farms where it seems to be all about the profit and the cows are just a vehicle to the profits rather than living things.

Leave a Reply

