Westbury Fun Run number 4

10690336_326017064243991_8085378193312800326_n

Westbury 8km Fun Run was my first fun run back in 2011. I lined up in a nervous ball of anxiousness. I didn’t even own a running top back then. I wore one of Pauly’s rugby supporter tops and I had a pair of 2XU compression pants that Pauly had bought for me (they have since worn out).

I didn't allow photos of me in running clothes back then - so this is a staged one, complete with all milking cap that I wore back in 2011.

I didn’t allow photos of me in running clothes back then – so this is a staged one, complete with milking cap that I wore back in 2011.

As I pinned on a race number for the first time I felt like a fraud. That I shouldn’t be there. All the voices in my head were saying YOU DON’T BELONG! You CAN’T do this! But I did, I ran those 8kms back in 2011 (time was about 50 minutes-ish).

What a difference it was on Sunday. I rocked my INKnBURN outfit and felt perfectly comfortable in my running gear, I pinned on my race number like it is a normal part of life, because it is now – it’s perfectly normal for me. I looked like a runner BUT most importantly I felt like a runner BECAUSE? I am a runner!!!

10672236_10152377927981824_8767925303420974277_n

Sunday was lovely. The weather was good, light breeze with a temperature of around 18ºC (very warm for this time of year). I ran and I loved it. I was very happy with my lap times and did a pretty awesome negative split (something I always aim for because it makes me feel good to know that I pushed harder at the end when I’m getting tired).  I chipped away at the hills, zoomed down the slopes and ran my heart out on the flat bits.

Sunday was like a shot in the arm to my running confidence. I had a wonderful run, felt pretty ok, I did labour with the breathing a bit but got those 8kms done in 42:23.

And that negative voice in my head? I had it perfectly under control. When it got hot and still over a few patches of the course I told myself to suck it up Princess Annie, this hot bit won’t last long. And I was right. It didn’t.  I pushed through regardless.

Pauly flying in for the a lap around the oval to the finish line (35:20).

Pauly flying in for the a lap around the oval to the finish line (35:20).

Westbury Fun Run 2011, 2012, 2013 and now 2014. Thank you so much for showing me that I can do so much more than I think I can. Thank goodness for a really awesome run after so many not so good runs.  And such an awesome fence-leaning moment, time to reflect and celebrate how far I’ve come with running in just four years.  Thank you Westbury Fun Run!  If I can do this running thing, you can too!

Happy running 🙂

PS this week has been a wonderful week for sowing running dreams into 2015. Huey, Dewey and Louie are registered for the Great Ocean Road Half Marathon (in the state of Victoria) in May. Pauly and I have registered for the Run for your Heart Fun Run AND we’ve just found out about another run up a mountain called the Mt Barrow Challenge (organised by a local gym). It’s at the end of October, 14kms of up up up – a great pre-P2P training run for us. So many runs, not enough weekends! Cadbury registrations haven’t opened but when they do you can be sure that Louise and I will be fingers poised at our tablets ready to sign up for our first Marathon.

Warm sun? fast run? early morning start on the farm?  Tired Pauly taking a nap on the oval during the presentations.

Warm sun? fast run? early morning start on the farm? Tired Pauly taking a nap on the oval during the presentations.

12 thoughts on “Westbury Fun Run number 4

  1. awww… LOOK AT YOU!!!!! wow, awesome anniebabes, so pleased you had a good run, sounds amazing! WISH it was our summer coming round 😦 lots of cold wet dark nights on the horizon for me… so keep inspiring K! xxx

  2. Love your enthusiasm, crazy a little lol :).You are an inspiration and breath of fresh aiir, keep up the great work, oh love the action shots 🙂

  3. Glad to hear you got a little confidence boost after feeling unwell for the last couple of months, hopefully you’ve finally shaken off the lurgy now!

Leave a Reply

