Ahoy me Hearties ‘tis Run for a Wish Day! Aye!

A fun run that really is fun? Yes, Run for a Wish is the one!

10401504_780585245319178_2129364107340595902_n

The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. The focus is on raising money for the Make a Wish Foundation. This is an Australian charity that does the most lovely of things at the most terrible of times. It grants wishes to seriously ill children. From swimming with dolphins, meeting celebrities, getting a puppy, having a tree house built, getting a special 3D TV… this charity makes wishes come true and for a few moments a family can smile.

10155379_433533350119145_1108024335038993068_n

When I read the stories on the facebook page tears come to my eyes. Life is a celebration but for these families life is a struggle.  And here is a wonderful organisation bringing some happiness, cheer and light into the darkness.  Beautiful!

Yes, Run for a Wish is a happy fun run. Today I celebrated running in this event for the third time by wearing a costume – to be sure to be sure. I couldn’t think of a better event to indulge in a bit dressing up; an event that’s all about happiness, fun and celebrating the good things but most importantly about being a kid. An event that says life is serious but just every so often let’s kick up our heels and have some fun. $24,000 was raised!

wpid-20141018_104521.jpg

So Oooooo Arrrr me Hearties! Shiver me timbers I’m about to turn 50 but I’m not too old to be a sprog and wear a costume. There was no hornswaggling about it but I won the bootie! Aye me maties! I did win best costume!

wpid-20141018_115037.jpg

And now aft the run tis time for a rest for this Pirate Wench – in the morn be Burnie 10!

Happy running 🙂

PS it helps that I was practically the only grown up in a costume! What does this say about me? It says I love running but I don’t take things too seriously…at least that was my intention.

wpid-20141018_103656.jpg

No scallywagging! Aye, 6.4kms in an eye patch? To be sure to be sure.

wpid-20141018_103700.jpg

Me curly pirate hair needs the cutlass! No wonder I usually run with a cap.

wpid-20141018_104719.jpg

No Jolly Roger but flying the flag of wishes. Special wishes to lighten the darkness and bigger wishes for happy healthy children.

 

24 thoughts on “Ahoy me Hearties ‘tis Run for a Wish Day! Aye!

  1. Love it!
    Good luck for Burnie tomorrow, no running with your eye mask on though, you need to see where are you going for that one!

  2. Ha haaaaa! The costume is revealed!!!! It’s FANTASTIC!!! Love it!!! Can’t imagine running with one eye covered though… Wasn’t it weird 🙂 Congrats on running today… GREAT CAUSE!!! Xxx run well tomorrow xxx

    • Thanks CK 🙂 It was weird running with an eye patch but there was just a little louvered part so I could see straight ahead (it was also mostly on the parkrun course so very familiar). Peripheral vision was tough. 🙂

  3. What a winner! Love the costume! – and the pictures were taken at the end, not a sign of scruffy dishevelment, how do you do it?😄😄😄

    • Thanks 🙂 Oooo there was a bit of scruffy dishevelment happening. I don’t usually run with makeup and that was going a bit all over the place – sweat and makeup doesn’t mix with me.

  4. Oh my gosh, the costume is awesome! So much fun! It looks great on you and what a fun post to read with all yer pirate talk. Hey, where’s Pauly’s costume 😉

    • You aren’t the only one who asked that! I might get my crusty old farmer husband in a costume one day. I had to look up a pirate glossary to find some words – I’ve got a ways to go with fluency oo arr!!! Thanks for the lovely comment, Cynthia, it was a fun thing to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

