Rainy running

weather

As I type the rain is teaming down.  Pauly is tucked up inside enjoying a sit-down.  Arrr summer rain.  We dairy farmer types love it!  While everyone else is longing for the warmth and the sunshine we are crossing our fingers for lots of beautiful drenching, earth rescuing summer rain to grow the pastures to feed the cows.

wpid-20141205_165142.jpg

wpid-20141205_165115.jpg

wpid-20141205_165103.jpg

Summer rain means a respite to the drudge and labour intensive farming activity known as irrigation.  If you ever need to lose a bit of weight, tone up and get the best workout of all, just let me know.  Come to our farm and learn how to manage the irrigators.  AND you can get a sun tan while you do it.  But not today, it’s raining!

River Road Run

River Road Run

This week as runners we have successfully dodged the rain with some runs and not with others.

Wednesday saw Pauly and I off for 14km undulating run after work.  We ran down River Road.  The storm clouds were looming; by the time we got to our 7km turn around point the light drizzle had turned into soaking wetness!  We hadn’t run out this road quite so far before.  It was just so pretty, peaceful and soul renewing.  Despite being wet from top to bottom, complete with squelching running shoes, we both had a really happy, fun run.  It was raining but it was warm.

Poor wet Pauly!

Poor wet Pauly!

wpid-20141203_191500.jpg

Good weather for ducks

Today, Friday, was long run day.  Another one of those massive runs to put into our run bank that on marathon day we will withdraw the benefits from.  Another go at the Meander 10km loop.  32kms was the distance for today, starting at 6:15am and finishing just before 9:45am.  The rain clouds were evident but looked like they would take a break and hold off for the morning.  At one point the morning sun burned off the clouds (right at the 24th km).  It was so hot!  But then the cool of the overcast skies returned almost immediately.  I found today’s run tough!  But I made it!

Pauly and Louise running under the threatening skies.  We had a great run made all the better because of the encouragement from running friends.

Pauly and Louise running under the threatening skies. A tough run made better because of the encouragement from running friends.  Thanks Louise and Pauly!

It’s summer in Tasmania: sometimes we run dry and sometimes we run wet. But no matter what when there is a marathon to be trained for we run.  32kms firmly and securely deposited in our run bank ready for withdrawal on Sunday 11 January 2015.  Go Team Huey, Dewey and Louie!

This weekend I have two lovely running friends running the Bruny Island Ultra – 64kms of undulating running on a small island right down south of Tasmania.  The tentative plan is for Pauly to run this in 2015 with me as support crew and then swap in 2016.  All the best to my lovely friends who are running this weekend!  I hope the skies are kind to you. bruny-island

Happy running 🙂

BRUNY-ISLAND-MAP

32 thoughts on “Rainy running

    • Thank you 🙂 Sounds like another running trip back home for you maybe 🙂 Bruny can be done in teams too. They would be a couple of hours in already and the weather isn’t looking that great. They are going to especially earn those finisher medals to day.

  1. Great photos! Isn’t it funny how great some rainy runs can be? I never want to start in rain, but it never bothers me once I am out (unless it’s torrential, of course!)

  2. You live in such a beautiful area. I’m so jealous of your summer weather. I’ll take rain over snow! Congrats on a successful long run (complete=successful!!). I’m fascinated by the ultra/trail running. I know it’s not in my cards at my age, goodness I can’t get past the 5k yet. But given my love of nature and hiking and wilderness, I sure wish I was 30 years younger. So I watch the videos of others and run virtually through those more fit 🙂

    • Thanks Cynthia 🙂 complete = success. That’s so encouraging right now (hugs for being so lovely!).We are so lucky with our weather here in Tasmania. Usually we get a lot of teasing for our bad weather but no where in Australia gets severe winters like so many other areas of the world does. You just never know what you can do unless you keep chipping away at those fitness goals Cynthia, never say never xxx

  3. Running in conditions that aren’t ideal is part of the training 🙂
    It seems to me that you have both the hot weather and rainy conditions nailed! 🙂

  4. Looks so lush and green Annie! Congrats on the 32km! I love that the marathon hasn’t been run yet and you are on to ultra planning. You are a superstar!

    • Thanks Sue 🙂 Not a superstar (hehe), running has a romantic allure for me that is just plain crazy. The latest rain means that the irrigators have been turned off for a week. A young dad who works for us has been given a week off (unheard of at this time of year) AND we have a farm wedding today. Rain in summer means rest and play 🙂

      • So glad to hear of the rest Annie. You both deserve it. No wonder the two of you are so ridiculously fit!
        Was the wedding someone you knew or do you rent the farm out for weddings?

      • One of the chaps who works on the farm is getting married this afternoon. The rain has cleared so looks like the sun will shine on the happy couple. The Wedding is in a little town nearby 🙂 we’ve just been to parkrun, now detailing the car ready to chauffeur the Groom. So exciting! I guess I better get out of my running gear soon too!

  5. I love reading your blog, in fact I love reading all blogs from runners. We too had a wet run when caught in a storm in the Glasshouse Mountains, I love that too.

    • I don’t mind the rain especially when it’s warm 🙂 And yes these ‘shorter’ runs do seem so easy compared to the ones that take hours and hours 🙂 it’s a strange place to be in after struggling to build up distance, but a very good place too.

Leave a Reply

