Hold Tight to your dream – one week to go

And just like that there is one week to go.  Seven days and seven sleeps.  Team Huey, Dewey and Louie aka Pauly, the Unsporty Woman and Louise will line up at the start line for marathon number one.

One week to go

One week to go

Getting organised

The information about drink stops has been doing my head in.

I had to lay it out in an Unsporty Woman simple sort of way to make sense of it.

Ah....that's better :)

Ah….that’s better 🙂

I have some bright contact to put on Pauly’s drink stop bottles (who would want to drink it anyway?  The stuff he has looks like he scooped it out of a muddy puddle – yuck!).  And I have some bags with labels on them for my gels – I am choosing to leave my gels at the stops because they are just a bit big for my SPI belt AND less to carry.  Between the gel stops I’ll be munching on glucose jelly beans.  Sorted!

The Cadbury Marathon Course

(http://cadburymarathon.com.au/)

We do two laps of Cadbury Estate, then the little loop as indicated on the map, out to the end, then back to the little loop, then out and back again.  (http://cadburymarathon.com.au/)

See!  Simple!  It’s just out and back, then out and back again.  Voila!  42.2kms.

The best thing is that at the last turn around there is a neat 10kms to go.  That’s going to be so good to focus on.  I can hear myself chanting 10kms to go! 10kms to go!  I am a marathoner!  I am a marathoner!

Stay Positive

And my marathon theme song is ELO’s Hold on Tight courtesy of the amazing Colby and Tina at It’s A Marathon AND A Sprint and Tina’s post Hold on Tight.  If you haven’t read their blog please have a look.  I laugh, I sometimes cry and always get inspired to keep putting the running shoes on and to get out there and run down my dreams.

Hold On Tight

Hold on tight to your dream
Hold on tight to your dream
When you see your ship go sailing
When you feel your heart is breaking
Hold tight to your dream.

It’s a long time to be gone
Time just rolls on and on
When you need a shoulder to cry on
When you get so sick of trying
Just hold tight to your dream

When you get so down that you can’t get up
And you want so much but you’re all out of luck
When you’re so downhearted and misunderstood
Just over & over & over you could

Accroches-toi a ton reve
Accroches-toi a ton reve
Quand tu vois ton bateau partir
Quand tu sents — ton coeur se briser
Accroches-toi a ton reve.

Hold on tight to your dream
Hold on tight to your dream
When you see the shadows falling
When you hear that cold wind calling
Hold on tight to your dream.

Oh, yeah Hold on tight to your dream
Yeah, hold on tight…
To your dream.

1375970_643171522369775_695099100_n

This Unsporty Woman is holding on tight to her dream.  She ran to the letter box one day and the door of the running world opened just a thin sliver; just enough to enable a tiny glimpse of what could be.  She kept running and the door opened wider and then wider still.  What she saw amazed and delighted. She was becoming a runner and she loved it.  She ran up a mountain in 2013 for her 49th birthday and the door opened so widely it exploded off its hinges.  There she was over the threshold of the running world and she was never going to turn back.  She was in.

She held on tight to her dream of becoming a runner.  She didn’t quit although many times it felt too hard.  Quitting wasn’t ever an option.  She kept trying and she got to the top of that mountain.  She even ran the Point to Pinnacle again in 2014 and this time she ran all the way!

Now the sky is the limit!  The barriers are gone.  The voice in her head that said she couldn’t has been permanently silenced.

t_6cf7e260-cf32-11e1-bfee-33267be00008

And here she is 50 and about to be at the start line of her first marathon.

I’m holding tight to my dream.  Please keep holding on tight to yours.  If I can do this running thing then you can too.  Just don’t give up!

Happy running 🙂

28 thoughts on “Hold Tight to your dream – one week to go

    • Thanks Joanne 🙂 it’s such a crazy thing but so true. And something I find it hard to explain to non-running friends who think they never could. Unless we have a go we never know.

  1. I love your spreadsheet version of the drink stops- that is how I do things too 🙂 You are so ready for this marathon, it’s just impressive! I can’t wait to hear how it goes. You got this!!!

    • Thanks Cynthia 🙂 my head couldn’t get around the information on the web site to the point where I was literally getting anxious. Then I laid it all out and felt instantly better (silly I know). Thanks for all your lovely thoughtful comments, I so appreciate your support and encouragement xxx

    • You so right Shaz 🙂 that 14 week plan seemed like it would take forever and now there is one week to go. And yes, nice and flat. The last rise into Cadbury Estate will be the most challenging. I remember it from the half last year and even though it’s not steep and long it just seemed really steep and long. I will need a young dude playing Chariots of Fire again hehe Thanks for your support and encouragement, it really does mean a lot!!!

  2. May you, Pauly, and Louise glide over the Cadbury course and enjoy the celebration after. Cheers to your handy recovery too. Rooting for you from the Rockies!

  3. Ooh, you’re getting so close but you have prepared so thoroughly and have such a positive attitude that I know this marathon will be yours!
    I’ll be thinking of you next weekend, good luck! x

    • Thanks Tahnee 🙂 it was your marathon post that really inspired me and helped me to believe that I could try the 42.2kms. I appreciate your support and encouragement so much!!!!

  4. I am SO excited for you! You have done everything right, trained well and now it is your time Annie. You go girl. Know I will be cheering for you. Listen closely and I will be in your ear. You are a marathoner!

Leave a Reply

