We made it

Cadbury Marathon will go down in my memory as one of the most amazing days.  The distance was epic.  But what made it amazing was the friendships and support from one to another.

The cheering and support from much loved friends both at the event and from afar was truly humbling.

These photos that my gorgeous running friends Fiona and Lance took at the finish really sum up the day.

10922601_10152497651880836_6956644699447257570_n

10906463_10152497735830836_3544829264969679268_n

Pauly finished his first marathon in 4:09:10, Louise 4:22:44 and me 5:12:31.  I will write more about the day and event very soon.

One of the highlights was receiving a hug from fellow blogger Glory in the Melee at about the 17km mark – she came all the way to Tasmania to run the half marathon. It was so good to meet her on the course!  I couldn’t think of a better place to meet one of my favourite runner-bloggers than out there running!

wpid-20150111_114936.jpg

wpid-img_4494.jpg

Team Huey, Dewey and Louie with Caramello Koala and Freddo Frog. We did it!

Am I happy? Yes.  Will I be doing another marathon?  YES!  I am hooked.  This was a dress rehearsal.  A dipping in of the toe.  I was right at the back of the pack but the thrill of the distance has got me hooked.

Happy running 🙂

69 thoughts on “We made it

  1. Ah, well done, Annie! Looks like it was a very hot one too! So glad for you. Wishing you a speedy recovery. These things sure take it out on a body but you’re looking very fresh in your post mara pic. Congrats!

  2. Congrats well done. You have given me so much inspiration to now go on and do a full marathon.
    Keep the great blogs going.

    • Thanks Paul 🙂 I had ‘Dig Deep’ on my arm and thought of your post as I run quite a lot but a few times I wasn’t digging, I was only raking! I have unfinished business with Cadbury Marathon so I’m coming back next year and not with a spade, I’m coming back with an excavator. I’m going to run all the way next year. But I’m going to have work on my mental toughness even more and my endurance. I will do it.

  3. The mysteries of the global time zones have you finished your marathon while my (same) day is just beginning 🙂

    Congratulations! … the huge smiles say it all!
    The happiness glow will last for a while … for me, usually a few days. Enjoy it 🙂

  4. Annie congrats to you!! We waited for your updates on Facebook as though we were there. When You got to the last 10km I went to the gym and ran on the treadmill in solidarity. Silly I know. 🙂 Glad to hear you came away with such a positive feeling. The photos do say it all. Big hugs from Dave and I!

    • Thanks so much Sue and Dave 🙂 There was a man wearing a Canadian running top which was so cool! I thought of you all through the course but especially at the 10kms to go mark and imagined your pom poms going flat out! Thanks for running on the treadmill with me. I have to come back next year. This was the dress rehearsal so please don’t lose those pom poms!

      • Love your positive attitude Annie. I can’t say I felt like that at the end of my first marathon. Dave points out there is a bit of an age difference. 🙂 We will keep the pom poms handy.

        On a completely different note we have been starting to talk about a trip to Australia, perhaps 2016. Any suggestions for best time of year to visit your beautiful country?

      • Thanks Sue 🙂 I love your pom poms! A trip to Australia? Cool! Best time of year depends on where you are going. The tropical north the best time is in the middle of the year to avoid the wet season at the start. For Tasmania the best time would be late summer early Autumn to avoid winter…but then our winters are nothing like yours! I know a place that’s really great and very central to Cradle Mountain 🙂

      • Annie I am smiling at your comment. Of course before meeting you I confess I didn’t have a clue about Tasmania or where it actually was. Now not only its it on our radar but of course we would be so keen to meet you and Pauly.
        As far as where else we are going well it’s very early in the planning, likely Sydney and Melbourne. Any other suggestions?

      • That is the delightful thing about Tasmania. It’s hidden and off the beaten track. If I was the travel fairy and I could grant you and Dave an Australian experience I would dust you with fairy dust and we would take in Cradle Mountain – Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania, The Great Barrier Reef in Tropical North Queensland, Uluru and the Olgas in the Northern Territory, The Barossa Valley in South Australia and finally I would take you to Monkey Mia in Western Australia to see the dolphins and to experience the rugged, lonely Western Australian coastline. I’ve been to four of these places but one is still on my ‘get there’ list. There is a poem by Dorothea Mackellar My Country 🙂 it says it all 🙂

      • Well that sounds like some serious fairy dust! I don’t think we will get to the west side as we just won’t have the time to see such a massive country. Your suggestions sound fabulous and I have saved them to research out. Thank you for taking the time to share this Annie. I’m excited already!

  5. What an achievement, I was so in awe of you when I passed you, I had only done about 17/18kms at that point and was so relieved to be near my finish, I was flagging big time. And there you were, with sooo much more to do, smiling, just amazing! What a wonderful day, so many happy runners calling out encouragemt to each other ❤
    I can't wait for the next challenge but have learnt a few things that I can take away and work on too.
    Enjoy some downtime this week, you DESERVE it xx

    • Thanks Sam 🙂 very well done to you too! Thanks for all the cheers and waves. You were looking awesome, not flagging at all! It’s always good to learn things from races – onwards and upwards. Thanks so much for your encouragement and support xxx

  6. I knew you would make it, what an achievement I’m so proud of all of you. You so earned that bath and bubbly and now enjoy the rest. I know what you mean the buzz you get and getting hooked lol, for me Im still buzzing lol. Looking forward to reading your recap. Once again what an awesome effort this past weekend. X

  7. Yaaay!! Congratulations! I am so impressed and so proud of you! And even more impressed that you want to be doing it again when most people go: NEVER AGAIN! You rock, girl! xx

  8. I’ve only just stumbled upon your blog and want to congratulate you – what a great read and fantastic things you’ve achieved! I’m running the Cadbury half marathon in January – I ran a half in January this year and it’s taking me a whole year to get over it and run another one so I can’t imagine running the full!

    • Hello Gill x good on you for running the half in January, it’s not an easy course. I’ll be running the half again this year, I hope we might get to say hello. Just keep on going, don’t give up! Most people don’t even try to run any distance so you are a star for getting out there and doing that half. Every distance is like a marathon until we try it x

Leave a Reply

