It seemed like a good idea at the time

Honestly, it did.  It seemed like an excellent idea.  Pauly would be running this event and I was going to support and spectate.  Then on their facebook page they asked if anyone would like to be on a team.

Why not? I thought,  I can run 14kms of hilly trails.

I emailed off and was assured that if there was an opening they would let me know. I received another email letting me know they hadn’t forgotten about me but no opening as yet.

On reflection I thought, This is cool, I will just go and have fun.  I was happy and feeling good.

Today, with just one day to go before entries close it looks like I’m on a team.  A team with a local Shepherd and someone from the Military!  Two fit guys.  Probably young enough to be my sons.  GULP!  I’m assured that they just want to have a bit of fun and not go all out.  Thank goodness for that!

In my original email I stressed that I wasn’t fast and gave them my times for different events.

Don’t panic!

14kms in a team of three for the Great PukeokaHu Man v Horse?  Oh. My. Goodness.  Feeling a bit challenged BUT (deep breath in) BRING IT ON!

Happy running 🙂

This event is on the North Island of New Zealand.  We’re going to our lovely Niece’s wedding and will be doing a couple of runs while we’re there.  The full distance for the event is 40.5kms.  It’s a race between horses and runners.  Runners start out 15 minutes before the horses.  There are gates to open and close along the way.  It’s rough and hilly.  All good wishes and positive thoughts appreciated!!!

21 thoughts on “It seemed like a good idea at the time

  1. Now Pauly can’t have all the fun, crazy you both are in the kindest way lol. I think it’s a great idea you being in a team event to, love it. The scenery itself will get you through and I know you love those hills.. Sending you both lots of positive thoughts. Looking forward to the pics and recap. X

    • Thanks Leanne 🙂 we are a both a bit crazy but looking back at you and your trail running hehe what ever makes us happy I say 🙂 I can’t wait to have a go. I’ve had emails from my team members and they are perfectly happy to have a slow girl on their team 🙂

  2. I’ve heard people talk about whether a man could out run a horse, but I didn’t realise that there was an actual race!! Have fun! And good luck😃

      • It’s a bit of a tome isn’t it! I get plenty of recovery 😳 but I don’t think that I’m matching it with the right amount of running!

Leave a Reply

