Gutbuster Number 3

Most Fridays Louise and I run together.  We run around Deloraine and that involves hills.  Lots of hills.

This is the profile of our standard Friday 10km run.  We can add a few more hills depending on the distance we are training for.

This is the profile of our standard Friday 10km run. We can add a few more hills depending on the distance we are training for.

Hills make runners strong both in body and mind.  The more hills we run the more we are able to run.  When a hilly course comes up, we can say, No Problem!  I can run hills! 

Today was my third lovely opportunity to run the Launceston Running Club’s Gutbuster event.  11.6kms of amazing ups and equally amazing downs.  It was my first ever run with LRC back in 2013;  I have a soft spot for this event.  I remember clearly turning up and feeling so shy but being welcomed so warmly.

The profile of today's Gutbuster.

The profile of today’s Gutbuster.

I’ve written about this event a twice before.  It’s one of the most scenic runs in the LRC calendar with views of vineyards, the Tamar River, the Batman Bridge and the beautiful Tasmanian countryside (did I mention it’s just 2kms from my favourite winery?).  It’s a great location for a gutbusting hill run.

For the second running of this event I was able to take six minutes from my previous time.  I went in today thinking that I would run close to this but not any faster.  It’s been a busy week which featured the most full-on leg workout at Outside Fit on Tuesday night; Pauly and I are still sore, oh the DOMS.  The thought of running hills today was a bit daunting.  Pauly hadn’t been able to run all week!  He’s been going around the farm looking like tin man with a pained expression on his face; his glutes and quads very stiff and sore.

No Pauly isn’t pushing the car. He was so sore and crampy that he had to stop on the way home to stretch

But we did it!  We ran those gutbusting hills AND both took a minute off our times.  I’m stunned.  Pauly’s gone from 1:08:45 to 59:35 and today about 56:00 (he forgot to stop his watch and official times aren’t out as yet).  My times have gone from 1:17:45 to 1:11:44 to 1:10:43 today.  If I can do this running thing anyone can.  Don’t give up!

My laps from today.

My laps from today.

Hills are a runner’s friend.  They help us to face any course at all.  Training with Louise on Fridays and trying to keep up with her has helped my hill running so much!  At times I have a grumbled (yes true) but Louise always reminds me that the hilly runs will win the race on race day every time.  And it sure did today.  33rd winner and a PB of 1:01!

33rd winner - same place as last week!

33rd winner – same place as last week!

The only way to get to like hills is to go out and run them AND you never know you might end up loving them too.  Get your hillitude on! Shaz from Shazruns coined the term hillitude and it really just sums it all up in one fantastic word.  I might plod up a little slower than other runners in the Launceston Running Club, but I run them and I love them and I NEVER let them stop me!

gutbuster1

Happy running 🙂

PS we had to race home as soon as we’d finished running even before the bbq and presentations (something we don’t like to do! AND no trip to my favourite winery on the way either).  Both of us needed to put on our gumboots and work this afternoon.  Pauly is still in the milking shed but all I had to do was get the cows in and wind up an electric fence.  I’m so ready for a sleep now!  Gutbusting hills and then plodding around in the mud is tiring work!

Getting the cows in

Getting the cows in.

The snow clouds are gathering - a different view of the farm house in the distance.

The snow clouds are gathering – a different view of the farm house in the distance.

Plodding along winding up the fence and collecting the fence pegs.

Plodding along winding up the fence and collecting the fence pegs.

Back home and our retirement girls are in the house paddock.  Hyacinth aka 84 is in the front, then 69 (the oldest cow on the farm) and my beautiful Ruggy (number 100).  I love these old girls.

Back home and our retirement girls are in the house paddock. Hyacinth (84) is in the front, then 69 (the oldest cow on the farm) and my beautiful Ruggy (number 100). I love these old girls – very pampered old things they are too.

19 thoughts on “Gutbuster Number 3

  1. What a busy week you’ve had and today a tough run followed by farm work! You’ll be flying up those hills at GORM, I look forward to cheering you on, won’t be running due to ongoing pain (Parkrun today was a bad bad idea!) but looking forward to a few days away!

    • Oh Sam I’m sorry to hear that you aren’t running. I think you are amazing to have such a sunny attitude about it. The weather is supposed to be lovely next weekend and I think the atmosphere is going to be so much fun. Next Sunday I’m planning on having a bit of a plod, take the scenery and enjoy the event rather than busting my gut like yesterday 🙂 I hope we see each other next weekend, I’ll be looking out for you. We’re staying in Apollo Bay.

      • I don’t really have a sunny attitude Annie, there’s been plenty of grumpiness and self pity tears over the last few weeks! But you literally have to pick yourself and get on with it, in the grand scheme of life it really is nothing. I feel a bit funny going away with the group but they have all worked so hard it will be lovely to see them finish. Going to rest up this week and pray I might manage a run/walk but limped badly after Parkrun yesterday so really not sure (although I finished in my usual time!)
        Don’t know how you ran up (and down) that hill yesterday, you’re Awesome Annie 😄

      • hugs!!! I understand completely, I would be really disappointed. I’m glad you’re still coming and hope you have a wonderful time with your running group. I really hope you get better soon xxx

  2. Annie you are amazing! Run the Gutbuster, get the cows in and a few other massive chores and then I will put out a blog post. I’m never going to have your love for hills but I agree they help a great deal. I hope today is a day off. 🙂

  3. Funny to see you in a singlet top – according to FB Tassie is covered in snow!! Great job on the race, you’re going to rock that half marathon!

    • Thanks Tahnee 🙂 it was one of those warmish days in amongst the cold. It rained for the last 10 minutes and was freezing! A typical four seasons in one day sort of day. There were snow clouds on the mountains that afternoon.

  4. Ah, hills. I’m not gonna lie: I actively avoided them until this year but realized, like your friend said, “hilly runs will win the race on race day every time.” Working hard to embrace them now.

  5. Pingback: Underestimating – Gutbuster number 4 | Unsporty Women Can Run

Leave a Reply

