Did you see a koala? Yes!

11052390_10153020366113020_7835399689211829973_n

Running a hilly half marathon looking up and around in the canopies of the trees is a recipe for sea sickness.  Trust me I know, because that’s what I did yesterday while running the Great Ocean Road Half Marathon.

Janette told me that her friend had seen one last year and I really wanted to see one too. Koalas are native to mainland Australia, but not the island-state of Tasmania, so they are quite a novelty to me.  Let’s face it with kangaroos, emus, platypuses (plural of this is really platypi), echidnas, sugar gliders… and I could go on and on… Australia has some seriously different and cute wildlife.  But the koala is perhaps THE cutest.  AND I wanted to see one so badly!!!

I was running up a windy hilly section that went just a little inland (the only part of the whole 23km course that did), craning my neck all around and probably looking a bit silly doing it!  Koalas only live in eucalypt tress (or gum trees as we call them) so I scrutinised EVERY one.  Looking all around, where oh where are you, Mr Koala???

AND there he was!!!

I stopped.

I got my phone out.

I snapped a photo.

I pointed and exclaimed to the 100s of runners around me: THERE’S A KOALA!!!

I was so EXCITED!!!

Not only did I get to run THE most beautiful run but I got to see a koala too.  Half marathon number 11 in just under three years and a koala?  Sweetest run ever.  More soon.

Team Huey, Dewey and Louie at the finish.

Team Huey, Dewey and Louie at the finish.

Happy running 🙂

Ps The koala is right in the fork of the tree about a third down.  Trust me that little grey blob is a cute snoozing koala’s bottom!

15 thoughts on “Did you see a koala? Yes!

  1. Congrats on the race and the koala sighting. I’m not sure I could run while scanning the upper branches of trees … without tripping myself. Nor would I know a gum tree if I ran into it 🙂

    • I have another special photo just for you Joanne…you’ll never ever guess what flavour ice cream I found in an Apollo Bay ice cream shop??? It starts with V and no I didn’t sample it! I was a bit worried I’d trip myself up and at that stage of the race the road was still quite congested…it thinned out after the next big hill. Gum trees? If there’s a koala in the tree it’s a gum tree hehe 🙂 And if you crush the leaves they smell like eucalyptus oil 🙂 (Australian humour).

  2. I SEE HIM!!!!! Squeeeeee! I would have freaked!!!! You made my weekend with this little guy. I was thinking about you all weekend. So glad you had a fantastic weekend—dress, KOALA and all!!! 🙂

  3. I see him too! I couldn’t pick him out on the Facebook photo. How cool to see a koala! Great run and you look fabulous as always. If I didn’t like you so much I would detest you for making it look so easy. 🙂

    • Thanks Sue 🙂 I ran for the fun and scenery yesterday. Pauly did a smoking sub two hour run and the lovely Louise (despite a pitstop) came in just a hair’s breath over 2 hours and was in the top 20% in her category. They had to hang around at the finishing line for half an hour for me. It’s all about getting out there and enjoying the challenge 🙂

Leave a Reply

