Running – it’s all about the food

What we eat pre-run and during a run can make the difference between a bad run and a good run, between a happy run and a sluggish, tummy-aching, when-is-this-going-to-end??? sort of run.

The day before the Great Ocean Road Half Marathon was all about the food.  Team Huey, Dewey and Louie along with Louise’s husband Grant (aka Daffy and the best support crew ever) decided we would go for a large late lunch and a light dinner.

10448781_10153023627698020_4517618047779787676_n

I went for the all-time-great, guaranteed, best energy meal ever…the parmi.  We dined in style at a pub in Lorne.  Lorne is the start of the Great Ocean Road AND the start of the Marathon.

But my lovely friend Louise, the Louie part of our little team, she went all out with the running fuel.  How can such a small person put away so much food???

11203153_10153023627633020_3833859510674194943_nLouie did throw a few potatoes over to Daffy but at the end those plates were empty.  It must’ve worked because my speedy friend finished in the top 20% for her category!!!

On the run itself I took along my trusty hammer bar.  I seem to have got the race fuel just right.  I had the happiest run I’ve had in the longest time.  No gut issues whatsoever.  It has taken a lot of trial and error but I feel like at last I have my running fuel pretty much correct.  What a relief!!! (No pun intended hehe).

Running,  it really is so much about getting the pre and during food correct.

One thing that I didn’t indulge in was a new flavour of ice cream.  Being a patriotic Australian I do love Vegemite but ice cream?  I drew the line.  This is posted especially for Joanne from My Life Lived Full11258472_10153023626963020_8825850568415370597_nHappy running 🙂

Ps I’m typing this in the departure lounge – we are just about to head to Western Australia to visit Brown Eyed Daughter #1 🙂

15 thoughts on “Running – it’s all about the food

    • Thanks Sue 🙂 I’m sitting in my daughter and future son-in-law’s home sipping champagne right now. Life is pretty good but yes they creative minds behind Vegemite ice cream can keep it!

      • Just a visit this time 🙂 We’ve found a half marathon on Sunday but I’ve put my foot down to Pauly and said a big fat NO! I’m heading back in a few months for the Hen’s Night which is a cruise on the Swan River so that should be a lot of fun. With the distance between WA and Tasmania the Hen’s Night will be the only ladies pre-wedding do BUT it’s going to be pretty amazing!

  1. I have yet to figure out the running nutrition thing sadly… Omg Vegemite ice cream? VOM!!!
    MIND YOU!!!!! I tried strawberries dipped in BALSAMIC vinegar a while back and was astounded by the taste… I think you need to try it *devilish grin*!!!
    Enjoy your stay xxx

    • I do love Vegemite but I just don’t think I can try the ice cream or the new Cadbury Vegemite flavoured chocolate. It’s taken a long time to get the running fuel as good as I have it right now. A lot of trial and error and lot of Shrek-like impersonations on the long runs…thank goodness for understanding running buddies!!!

Leave a Reply

