Louie and Dewey go to yoga

imagesPDLVKX42

Or a whole hour and half where Louie and Dewey are right beside each other and do not talk. Not one word!

Or a whole hour and a half where Louie and Dewey can’t make eye contact for fear of giggling.

Or a whole hour and a half where Louie looks like a graceful swan and Dewey like a roly poly Saint Bernard at some points and a frozen armadillo at others.

04-01-09_18_

Yoga. It’s supposed to be good for us runners and after our first session on Wednesday night I can see why. I have done basic mat work Pilates, had a go at some of the yoga poses on the Wii Fit and even followed a few yoga YouTubes but had not participated in a yoga class. I was challenged by the balancing and the general stillness of the practice.

armadillo_nine-banded_texas_2a

The one area where I seemed to excel was the plank. No trouble with that at all and most likely due to all the planking I’ve done at bootcamps, Outside Fit sessions and my own tabata workouts at home. My ability to plank has given me hope that I might be able to master some of the other yoga poses in time. Lots and lots and lots of time!

The toughest part of the session was the relaxing part and being in the moment. AND it’s probably the thing that I need the most right now. I rush from the start of the day to the end. I can’t seem to keep up. I’ve even had to bring work home this week which is something I put an end to several years ago. I needed more balance and defined lines between work and home. These lines were smudging together and I couldn’t switch off from all the deadlines. I’ve gone to yoga for my running but perhaps it will help more with balance both physically and mentally.

Louie and Dewey went to yoga. It was something completely different to our usual Wednesday night hill session but a really good alternative for this week. Why? It’s the Launceston 10 on Sunday. The race is advertised as Australia’s fastest and richest 10km race. It incorporates the Oceania Championships and many elites from overseas come to run.

Screenshot (30)

Last year I managed a massive PB. Where the goodness that came from I don’t know. I went from just sub-60 in the January, to 55s in March to 52s in June.  This year I feel nervous!

What to do? Just for fun I’m going to try and stay with the 50 minute pacer for as long as I can. How long will that be? That’s anyone’s guess. At this point in my running it all really depends on my attitude and I probably won’t know what I’m capable of until I’m actually out there trying. Whatever the result it will be good to support a local event and to catch up with running friends – so no matter what the time I’m going to have a good time!

Happy running 🙂

10 thoughts on “Louie and Dewey go to yoga

  1. I’ve toyed with yoga off and on for years, but I finally found a class and instructor that really works for me and I’m in love. I’ve been going for 6 months now I’m so much stronger. Much like running, the changes happen subtly.
    Hope you have a great run on Sunday – whether a PB or not 🙂

  2. I did lots of yoga last year and really enjoyed it, though I only really liked one instructor – the others annoyed me (I don’t like change). I was also injury free last year!
    I’m so impressed with your 10 k progress last year! Good luck with the Launceston 10 – have fun!

    • Thanks Tahnee 🙂 I like the idea of yoga preventing injury! That alone will keep me going. I’ll try and have fun on Sunday. I hope I can hold on with the 50 minute balloon until the half way point at least. Shall try hard!

  3. i LOVE my yoga, but yes, the teacher can make or break your ‘love’ you have to find a teacher and a practice that works for you… I hate a class with chanting… Iyengar is my prefered practive but doing a combo class like i do now is great!
    Well done Anniebabes… sooooooo impressed xxx and good luck for your race xxx

    • Thanks CJ x The teacher is lovely, she explained everything so well. The chanting was different but it wasn’t too bad and only went for a few moments – it just took us by surprise being yoga-debutants as we were.

Leave a Reply

