Outside Fit – feeling the love again, again and again

Oh how we love to play with tyres

Oh how we love to play with tyres

Value for money, that’s what I get with Outside Fit. It may well be 45 minutes on a Tuesday evening but I feel the love from this session for days to come.

I feel it as I get into my car immediately afterwards. Oh the ache of tired quads as I ease into the driver’s side. Thank goodness for the warmth of heated seats to comfort the soreness.

I feel it as I move around the house preparing dinner and doing all those jobs that we do each evening. Feeling that love, that Outside Fit love.

I feel it the next morning putting on mascara. Who knew mascara was that heavy? Oh the ache! Oh the DOMS! Oh the pain!

I feel it in my office as I type, file, tutor, answer the phone. The phone? Oh it’s so hard to hold that weight to my ear.  Who filled this phone with lead?

I continue to feel that Outside Fit love for the next day, the next evening and right on into the next day, day after day and days to come…

Our PT loves these oversized cricket wickets - ouch is all I can say.

Our PT loves these oversized cricket wickets – ouch is all I can say.

Squats. Lunges, Wall Sits, Sprints, again and again and again. Planks, Intervals, Step Ups, Burpees, again and again and again. Push ups, Triceps Dips, Pull ups, again and again and again. Torture. Agony. Pain.

And a PT with eyes in the back of her head? Get your bum down Anne-Marie!!!

Yes PT, I weakly reply.

Is it 6:45pm yet?

I’m feeling that Outside Fit Love ALL. THE. TIME. All the time!

11073905_911931545525211_2045093729202083855_n

Tricep dip, on a tricep dip...again and again and again?  Who invented such torture?

Tricep dip, on a tricep dip…again and again and again? Who invented such torture?

It’s supposed to get easier! I think to myself. But no, it never does. Our PT has a way of rotating the workouts so that all muscle groups are lulled into a false sense of security. Just when we think we’re reaching that level of fitness and think YES! We are conquering Outside Fit! Our PT has a new more intense way of executing those humble, seemingly routine exercises. And then the love comes. That love comes in again big time.

10422153_889953117723054_2035017440100511402_n

There have been times when, as I’ve eased myself into the car, a smile has slowly erupted over my face. I’m not sore tonight! I think to myself. Wow! I turn up the radio and sing all the way home! But then as I’m about to get out of the car, after the 30 minute drive home, there it is. The love. Yes the love is there, ache, stiffness, oh no….I’m feeling that Outside Fit love – again!

And yet I still keep going. Each week I’m there. Why? Because we runners know that cross training makes us stronger. We need that core fitness to carry us through hours of running training. That love makes us stronger and keeps us running.

I will NEVER view a picnic table in the same way again. It is indeed an item of intense misery!

I will NEVER view a picnic table in the same way again. It is indeed an item of intense misery!

10171823_840581615993538_5748449919737241537_n

I love Outside Fit.  I’m being trained by a skilled and caring professional PT – her energy and happiness are infectious. I love that it helps to tone my muscles and make me a stronger runner. I love Outside Fit!

Happy running 🙂

PS All photos shamelessly stolen from You & Me PT’s facebook page.  AND right now Outside Fit goes on in the freezing darkness, these photos are all from warmer days!

sore

12 thoughts on “Outside Fit – feeling the love again, again and again

      • Not at all! There is a boot camp style class but I’ve only done it a couple of times but since having so many problems with my knee I haven’t been. Definitely need to fit in more strength stuff but after a week of swim, bike, and the occasional run, plus normal life, it’s hard to do more!
        Hope the DOMS are easing by now 😀

      • It is so hard to fit all the training in. I sometimes wonder how we runners do it all and I don’t have to put in the time for swimming and cycling. DOMS are all gone, ready for more on Tuesday!

  1. haaaa ha ha haaaa haaaa!!! you are so funny! i can feel the PAIN!!!!! let alone the bl**dy love you talk about! AnnieBabes, you get me off my butt everyday! *mwah* love you!
    That last pic of the dog is the BEST! so cute!!! and OH SO how i feel some days!

  2. LOL!!! All those *loves* you’ve been throwing around for strength and core work, for me is pure unadulterated *hate*.
    … but I do it.

    I thought my PT was tough. After reading this post, I’m reconsidering 🙂

    … and I agree, thank God for heated seats for tired leg muscles 😉

    • Hehe Joanne, the ‘love’ was a bit tongue in cheek. I had some serious DOMS this week and thought to myself what good value for money my PT is – just feeling it for days and days. But what really gets me is that even though I’ve been doing this for nearly five years I’m still sore all the time! I had this naïve concept that after a while it wouldn’t hurt so much. Oh well. I’m glad to hear you can relate to the wonderful adventure of PT!

Leave a Reply

