How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)

Each work morning as I emerge from the bathroom in various states of happiness about going to work, my husband Pauly makes a comment. He tells me how lucky he is to be married to such a pretty little thing (that’s a direct quote). It doesn’t matter if it’s a good hair day, if there are bags under my eyes or if a bad mood is making me look like the ugliest of old bags. He always says the same thing. Always with a warm smile and with a tone that has bubbled up from the depths of his heart.

After just over six years of marriage he still treats me like I’m his new Bride. (Well pretty much. New Brides don’t have to find their new Husbands underpants or milk their cows do they?).

I love running - blog

As I drove off to work today with his tux in the car to take to the dry cleaner, it stuck me again how fortunate I am to have met Pauly. I thought of how handsome he looks in his tux and how proud he stands next to me when I’m dressed up for an occasion. I suddenly felt like the luckiest woman alive. I was a washed-up 43 year old living in a small town. A librarian, Girl Guide leading, single mum and a non-runner. We met and then he swept me off my feet, we rode away on his muddy quad bike and he made me a dairy farmer’s wife. Well it wasn’t quite like that, there were some bits in between, but that’s it in a nut shell.

I am one lucky Unsporty Woman. I found my soul mate and my soul mate found me. And in the process he introduced me to what has become my biggest passion, running.

alovep

Yes, how sweet it is to be loved by my Pauly. Never did I imagine that on the day we met that life would take the direction that it has.   Never did I imagine that six years down the track running would be the passion that it is.

Next weekend we look forward to yet another weekend away for a running event. We get a couple of sleep ins. We get to spend time with friends and we get to happily indulge in all things running.   But most importantly we get time off the farm together, time to just be us and time to run a fantastic half marathon.

I wouldn’t be doing any of this if I hadn’t met my Pauly.

I close my eyes at night, wondering where would I be without you in my life
Everything I did was just a bore,
everywhere I went it seems I’d been there before

But you brightened up for me all of my days
With a love so sweet in so many ways
I want to stop and thank you baby
I want to stop and thank you baby

Happy running 🙂

Ps here endeth the mush for a while!

16 thoughts on “How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)

  1. Oh that is an adorable post! It is truly wonderful you found each other and that so much richness of living has come from it. Good luck with the race and enjoy the time away together. Well deserved!

      • Cheering on this end already. I will be at my Mom’s house in rural Canada with little internet access so I’m sending extra cheers now as I may be unable to deliver on the day of.
        Oh and the trip to Australia is very close to having flights booked! We have decided to concentrate on the south east corner and Tasmania of course. BTW have you been to King Island? It was suggested to us by a couple in Sydney as a spot to see the penguins that wasn’t as crowded as Phillip Island. Thoughts?

      • Thanks Sue 🙂 No facebook updating from me at Run Melbourne, I’m going to be a serious runner (is that possible? hehe). How exciting about the trip nearly being booked! King Island? I’ve been there once. It was part of the area I looked after in a previous job. There is a small library there. Great cheese. Great lighthouse. Very flat, very windy and super expensive to get there. Fairy penguins are so easy to see at Low Head in Tasmania and on Lillico Beach. I can’t really comment about King Island other than that. Phillip Island is crowded but they manage the crowd very well. I’m not sure I’m the best one to give advise to about King Island…no help to you sorry.

      • Don Heads near Devonport might help too with the penguin viewings. Depends what time of year it is. If it’s day light savings they don’t come in until dusk so that can be quite late 🙂

Leave a Reply

