The plan is in place

After much consideration, study and consultation with our Coach, the Melbourne Marathon training plan is in place.

It’s a nine week plan.

Just nine weeks!

At this point in time all of us are what Pauly calls half marathon fit.  Most of the plans we looked at we come in at least a third of the way through.  Rather than giving us more weeks to religiously follow a plan we have decided to keep it real and do what we love and do all the time, our usual running routine.  At the moment we’re running between 40 and 50kms per week.  Our long runs are around 12 to 15 with the odd half marathon dotted in regularly.  Nine weeks it is.

The back bone of the plan was crafted by Louise using the Lazy Runner‘s calendar for long runs.  I then got to work and put in the middle distance runs also using the Lazy Runner’s tips for marathon training.  Janette found a plan for beginners and intermediate marathoners on the Melbourne Marathon web site so we have that as a guide too.

11011531_10153183886233020_8757965257629432468_n

I sent the draft to our Coach and got a thumbs up on the plan except that he really wants us to push out to 35kms at least.  We were going to stop at 32kms.  Actually he would like to see us do 37kms but 35kms would be ok.  We’re going with the 35km option.

A vital part of my weekly training has been hill repeats.  We learnt about these while we were training for our first Point to Pinnacle.  I had thought that in order to train to run up a mountain I’d have to find long hills and run up constantly, no ups and down, only ups.  Not so, said Coach.  He introduced us to hill repeats.  Before then we often ran hills up and down, up and down as part of our bootcamps (frequently with a heap of drill exercises thrown in at both ends of the hill! Exhausting).  Through all this we have come to love hills.  In fact it’s the one training night that I truly do look forward to with relish.

Hills make me feel mighty and strong.  I am Wonder-Hill-Running-Woman zooming up that hill.  At the top I stand with hands on hips looking down at the slope I’ve just conquered.  Take that hill!  You think you can beat me?  Not me the Unsporty-Woman-Slayer-of-Hills.  And every hill trembles when they see me comingTrue!  No word of a lie! (We won’t mention that Louise is always way in front and so is Pauly, we won’t mention that they have caught their breath, had a chat and all the sweat has dried from their brows while they wait for me to finish.  No we won’t mention that).

How I feel running up hills

How I feel running up hills

It’s all about attitude.  I love hills.  I learnt to love them.  I changed my attitude from dread to love.  It’s called hillitude.  Like any skill it takes dedication to learn and must be applied with a wide smile, a courageous toss of the head and confident laugh.  True!

As you can tell from the way I’ve prattled on I am in-love with hills – I have a crush on them!

When Coach said that we might start to not like hills with them on the plan every week I had a little giggle.  I don’t think he knows about my adoration of hills or our weekly date with hill repeats.  He has suggested some intervals as well as hills which is a very good suggestion.  Problem with intervals is that I suck at them.  Without someone to push me I just slow down.  A hill on the other hand does not decide to get flatter when I’ve had enough.  Get to the top or else, that’s what a hill says to me!

ccda3544f734450fb08d248f8b258a3e

Hill repeats will remain a staple of marathon training.  As will our nights of training with The Running Group and our middle distance and long runs.  Ah the long runs.  Bring them on!  I can’t wait.  Like hills they make me feel mighty and strong.

Today we fly away from the farm to Melbourne for our weekend in the big city and the Run Melbourne Half Marathon.  It’s all part of the plan, the plan to be half marathon fit all the time and ready to launch into our nine week training plan for the big one!  Melbourne Marathon.

Happy running 🙂

PS It is my firm intention to feel like Wonder Woman at the start of the marathon!  Ready to run and win over those 42.2kms – those kms are going to be trembling just at the very thought of me running that course.  They will!  Take that 42.2kms, I’m coming to get you! I have a crush on you too!

Today-I-Shall-Be-One-Run-Stronger-Free-Inspirational-Running-Printables-From-FrugalBeautiful_com_

26 thoughts on “The plan is in place

  1. You go girl woo hoo!! Just keep with the reason why you started running.. Putting too much pressure on your running doesn’t help with moral.. Just be yourself happy and optimistic I promise you will succeed

  2. Wow, you sure are an amazing woman, half marathon fit already, you’re going to have a great run in Melbourne and breeze through your twining plan, especially with that attitude to hills, don’t share your love of them, running or cycling but know they are good for me!
    Have a great weekend x

  3. Sounds like a great plan! I love the wonderwoman connection but not sure I will ever come love running hills. (PS I’m also called wonderwomandebz but for a different reason)

    • Wonder Woman Debz Slayer of Hills! Sounds good to me xxx I don’t doubt you’re called Wonder Woman for many different reasons, I get a glimpse of the things you do with your blogging….the title suits!

  4. Can you tell me a little more about hill training? I’m always terrified cause I’ve always read you have to find a big hill, like 50-100m, sprint up, jog down, repeat. But can I start smaller, not as steep, and not as far and work up? I need hillitude!

    • I’m no expert on hill training. We’ve run up all sorts of hills. A few weeks back we ran up that little hill just near Kings Bridge that goes up from the Tamar Marine walking track – up and down, up and down. Start small and build up might be a good plan. The more I’ve done the ‘easier’ they become or ‘more doable’ is perhaps a better way of explaining it. When I first started I wouldn’t look all the way up to the top of the hill. I’d steady my vision and literally chip away at it step my step. Each step would get me one step closer to the top. I’d chant ‘I’m a hill runner, I can run up hills’ over and over. And at the top I always, that’s ALWAYS threw my arms in the air and said ‘Yay!’ and celebrated the top. Slowly but surely doing all these things changed the way I think of hills. Hills really do make us stronger and way able to go the distance with running xxx

    • Thanks Julie. How steep? I’ve done hills repeats on lots of different hills, it doesn’t have to be super steep. The ones that I do vary from a 35 to 50m climb over 400m to nearly 1km. We sometimes do some really steep inclines as well. I’m no expert. Hills appear to be very relative. We’ve run in a park in Perth Western Australia which is a flat city and the people there say this park is a huge hill, whereas where we live has hills everywhere and much steeper…so all relative I guess. I hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

