Run Melbourne – a little bit more

I am blessed to run with two strong, beautiful women on a regular basis. They are both much faster and stronger than me but are happy to run and chill out in the happy-pace zone.  They run happy, they are a genuine joy to run with and I love them so much!  But on Sunday they ran their hearts out too.

A selfie for Fiona - need more practise at this me thinks.

A selfie for Fiona – need more practise at this me thinks.

Lucky Sarah has a Pauly too - she is one lucky Sarah just like I'm one lucky Annie!

Lucky Sarah has a Pauly too – she is one lucky Sarah just like I’m one lucky Annie!

Team Annie and Pauly at the Expo

Team Annie and Pauly at the Expo – is that a new pair of running shoes or three???

On Sunday yet again I was reminded just how awesome Janette and Louise are – two speedy sole sisters.  Apart from looking strong and fit they both churned out some fantastic times.  Just look at their percentage rankings!

janette

Not a PB but still a smoking time for someone returning from injury.

A PB!

A PB!

And as for Grant what can I say? He might do one run before an event, but most likely doesn’t do any running at all. Yet he still cranked out an amazing 5km!

Another PB!

Another PB!

Grant looking as fresh as a Daisy!

Grant looking as fresh as a Daisy!

 

Pauly and Janette at the start.  All those chairs were for volunteers who removed timing chips for runners - this event thinks of everything!

Pauly and Janette at the start. All those chairs were for volunteers who removed timing chips for runners – this event thinks of everything!  They had a pair of clippers on each chair and a crate to put your tired foot up on.  So thoughtful!

And another PB!

And another PB!

Then there is my Pauly. A PB for him. Age is a number, he is proof. He’s heading towards his 58th birthday in November but has run not one, not two, but THREE half marathon PBs this year AND in the first six months.

All up a fantastic weekend of running for all of us. At the end of the year we will team up and become Team Quackers for the Bruny Island 64km Ultra. This will be one fun weekend of running, laughing and for certain members of the team time to practise their French accents. But that’s another story.

Paul had women's nuts in his goodie bag - giggles!

Paul had women’s nuts in his goodie bag – giggles!

We all had the best time at Run Melbourne.

I am one blessed Unsporty Woman to have such a wonderful bunch of people to share running events with. And aren’t they all just amazing? I think they are!

It was cold before the 7am start.

It was cold before the 7am start.

And a big thank you to my wonderful Mum and Dad who literally kept the home fires burning. While it was wonderful weather in Melbourne, Victoria, back home in Tasmania it was freezing with snow down to 400m. The farm sits at 300m so it was mighty cold!  The house and the cats were kept toasty warm.

Happy running 🙂

PS don’t you just love the cool certificates (above) that we can download from this event?  As far as urban road races go this would have to be the best organised, most fun event ever.  Worth every cent of race entry!  Wonderful organisers, wonderful volunteers, great atmosphere, lots of music…it has it all!  It doesn’t feel like a run, it’s more of a party.

cool race day check lists

cool race day check lists

18 thoughts on “Run Melbourne – a little bit more

    • Thank you x Still Unsporty just giving the Sporty thing a little try on 🙂 (I am doing a 5km fun run and I could put anything I liked on my race bib….hehe….I’m going to be Unsporty!)

  1. What lovely comments, but I think we are just as lucky to have such an amazing running buddy and a beautiful friend. You forgot to mention your amazing PB on Sunday and the effort you put in was fantastic 😄 what a great weekend we had, looking forward to the next one and Marathon Training ( I can’t believe were doing another Marathon ) Bruny Island is going to be a very fun weekend I think!!!
    You are a STAR unsporty women and I’m so glad your my friend xo

    • Thank you Louise x I can’t believe we’re doing another marathon either! Crazy. Feeling so much more encouraged about getting it done after last weekend. I would never had had the guts to try if it wasn’t for all the times you’ve told me I can. Bruny Island is just going to be awesome fun!

  2. So happy to see you had a lovely weekend away with special people and smashed a PB as well!
    Trained hard for and very well deserved ☺️

  3. Aren’t you just a superstar!!!! I can only echo Louise’s comments – we are so lucky to have such a caring, supportive and ‘nutty’ (hehe) friend. You haven’t really given yourself enough credit for YOUR awesome run – you SMASHED it!!!!! For all of you that read these comments – I could rattle off ALL the things Annie is going to achieve … you know the Runner’s high that comes at the end of an event … and ALL the things you suddenly believe you are capable of achieving … hehe… trust me, there are PLENTY of blogs to come … Good on you, you are amazing and SOOOOOOO inspirational ….. for what other reason on Earth would I be doing a jolly marathon in ….eek, how many weeks????!!! Love ya xxx

    • Not sure about a superstar, lovely Janette, but you make me feel like one with these lovely words. I do like the ‘nutty’ tag, suits me well hehe. Thank you, yes I did smash it, didn’t know I was even going to have a go at doing some smashing but it all came together on the day. I wouldn’t be able to do this stuff without you, your words and encouragement come into play when my doubts start to get louder. Oh yes and that Runner’s High, terrible thing that, makes you think you can do all sorts of smashing of PBs and even gets beautiful running buddies to consider and sign up for marathons. It really is responsible for too many wonderful things xxx Oh 11.5 weeks to go!

  4. Super times by all of you – and well done!

    Run selfie is on point (as Gab would say 😛 )

    Such an awesome effort by you all and love your recaps!

Leave a Reply

