Half Marathon Number 13

This running thing takes us to more places than just start and finish lines. This running thing is a window that opens up on possibilities never dreamt of. Never considered. It shows us who we really are and what we are capable of.

My top for today's run :)

My running shirt for today’s run ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Loving my top-knot. It was just too windy for a cap this morning.ย  This photo was taken in Hobart’s iconic Salamanca Place where it’s possible to meet some interesting creatures as well as the odd Unsporty Woman.

Today was the Budget Hobart 5km Fun Run in Hobart, Tasmania Australia (Tasmania is the state of Australia I call home, a small island to the very south of the continent). And it was a Fun Run in every sense of the word. Sure there were some antelopes who sped around those two 2.5km laps in double-quick time, but there were all the other everyday runners there too. Beginners, experienced and all places between. They lined up to have some fun and run 5kms. There were a lot of awesome walkers too. Parents running hand in hand with children or pushing prams and family groups were the order of the day.

And it was cold! And windy! Tasmanian weather is gearing up for whatโ€™s being called a Polar Blast. Snow is forecast to 100m for the first time in 20 years. At 9:15am today it was hard to ditch the puffer jacket and wait those 15 minutes until the start in just running gear.

We were able to put what we liked on our race bibs.

We were able to put what we liked on our race bibs.ย  I was Unsporty and Pauly was Mav.

A highlight of the day was encouraging a lady who was walk-running. We chatted and talked about how much running has become our thing. Another was coming up behind a man who was walking with just 800m to go. Come on! I said, Just 800m, you can do that, keep running! Off he went and beat me! At the finish he waited for me to cross the line and then gave me a hug and said thank you. Itโ€™s amazing what a few words of encouragement can do.

Wonderful breakfast cooked by Paul's eldest son.  Perfect post-run refuelling.

Wonderful breakfast cooked by Paul’s eldest son. Perfect post-run refuelling.

It was a joy to see Sam out there today, she lapped me and then waited to say hello at the end. A 5km PB for her after a recent 10km PB AND just six weeks until her 70.3 Ironman! She is pumping. Good luck Sam, I hope you really enjoy your first Ironman. There are just no limits for this lady!

It was my turn to encourage today but yesterday it was my turn to be encouraged.

Half Marathon Number 13

Can I believe that? 13 half marathons in exactly two years. I canโ€™t. As I type that I shake my head in disbelief. Me the Unsporty Woman, loather of running and totally unsporty has run all those half marathons. Hang onโ€ฆhow many kms is that? The Unsporty Woman grabs her calculator.ย ย  274.3kms or 170.3miles. But they are more than just distances. They are weeks of training, weeks of running with friends, with Pauly, on my own. Weeks of cross training and weights.ย  Weeks of determination to get ready to go the distance.

Weeks of redefining myself from someone who thinks she canโ€™t to someone who thinks she can.

Half Marathon Number 13 was back on the course of my very first Half Marathon in 2013. The Launceston Running Clubโ€™s Scottsdale to Bridport Half Marathon. This event starts at 200m of elevation and descends to sea level. In the middle are some epic inclines that really scream CHALLENGE! Itโ€™s a handicapped race so most of us run on our own with the odd antelope or grey hound bounding by. I had a handicap of 46:25.

Everything was going well. I was battling the headwind and chipping away keeping at a great pace (for me). I got to the one drink stop at the 10km mark and was feeling good. I had one lovely runner who is usually much faster than me in sight and kept her there until the 17km mark. At the 17km mark we ran out of hills, no more ups and no more downs, just flat. Itโ€™s all flat until the finish. The headwind had been relentless pretty much all the way. But at that point it picked up even more. Bridport is a seaside town; the wind was coming right off the coast. This is where I got some wonderful cheers to keep on going, a car slowed down and a lady in the back seat wound down her window and clapped and told me I was doing a great job. Those words were golden. It was my turn to receive some encouragement on the run. Those words made the difference and I kept chipping away. I put my smile on my face and bent into the wind. I can do this!

After those cheers I thought about a blog follower called Nina who wrote a beautiful comment just recently. She said that when she feels like slowing down she thinks of me and the encouragement she receives from my words and digs deep. On Saturday I thought of you, Nina, and I dug deep. Thank you!

A course PB for me. Half Marathon Number 1 back in 2013 time was 02:18:04 and yesterday it was 2:10:15 – a PB of eight minutes. I was so pleased โ€“ and terribly surprised!

I came 39th out of about 50.

I came 39th out of about 50.

Never under estimate the power of the cheer. It really has magical powers.

13 half marathons? Who would have thought it? Definitely not me. If I can do this running thing and build up to this level of distance and endurance then anyone can. Never Give Up! Who says 13 is unlucky? It mightโ€™ve been tough but it was fantastic!

11701144_729336370509662_6926083471938348789_n

Happy running ๐Ÿ™‚

Ps the Polar Blast is coming.ย  Today on our drive back home there was snow falling at the higher levels of the Midlands Highway.ย  The farm sits at 300m so we may well have snow tomorrow.ย  I washed my car at 5pm and the temperature said it was 2ยฐC.ย  Brrrr.

PPs The Launceston Running Club’s Scottsdale to Bridport is the one event in the Club calendar where any runner is welcome to register andย join in.

37 thoughts on “Half Marathon Number 13

  1. Well done. That’s an awesome achievement.

    I do know the power of a cheer. On a recent trip to Nepal, suffering altitude sickness and going up a steeeeep hill, I was listless and lethargic, I was. in a world of pain but one lovely man and his partner encouraged me to keep going with a few kind words. I made it and they cheered me at the end. Magic!

  2. Wow 8 minutes of your pb that’s great! ๐Ÿ™‚ and 13 half’s in 2 years, that’s pretty awesome! I always used to think Australian winters were never really that cold!

  3. Wow Awesome Job! Keep inspiring because soon I will do my first Half and here you are at 13. I also loved your opening paragraph. It is very quotable. Keep up the hard work it makes me want to work harder.

    • That’s fantastic to hear. All the best with your first half. It’s a fantastic distance. As the Lazy Runner says a huge challenge but until a marathon the training isn’t too hard to fit into our busy lives.

  4. Lovely to have a catch up yesterday, you’re inspiring, 2 half marathons in 7 days and still energy to run another 5km in the wind!
    Thank you for your lovely comments, made me feel all excited to see it! (And a little bit terrified by the 6 weeks to go bit too ๐Ÿ˜Š)
    Good luck with the rest of your training xx

      • I am full of doubt and nerves at the moment, really not sure I will be ready come race day but just trusting that all the hours spent training will pay off and I won’t get disqualified for not finishing the swim in the time limit, then praying for no mechanical or rider problems on the bike and that I make the cut off time again and then if I make it through to the run, then I can smile and run, walk, or crawl my way through to the end!
        I often think of you and your sunny, positive comments during some long training hours ๐Ÿ’œ

      • Lovely Sam, trust your training and just go out and do your best. I am so impressed with all the training you’ve done and just look at those PBs. PBs show that you are stronger than you were and your endurance has increased. You are ready, just go out and follow your training plan (you may call me Coach Annie hehe). I wish I could be there with my pom poms. I’d be on the beach as you come out of the water with plenty of time before the cut off. Then I’d be at transition watching in awe as you jump on your bike, ride off and return. Then I’d make sure I really had my pom poms going for the run!!! Go Sam, Go!!!

      • Thanks for the lovely words and encouragement, thinking of you with poms poms made me smile so much, it so YOU! I shall try and keep that mental picture to pull on when things get tough ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. bloody hell! what an achievement!!! you take my breath away Anniebabes!!! THIRTEEN HALFS!!!! Not to mention the Full’s? and the Parkruns and… and… P2P? I wish i had half your guts and determination… no not half… just a sprinkle would do! *mwah* *mwah*
    As for the cold, oh gosh i so dont envy you… i am relishing ever last bit of sun this side of the equator… i am SO NOT looking forwards to 6-8months of crap, dark, grey cold, mis icy , snowy, wet dismal weather… Told hubby the other day that Aus/Taz is looking more and more attractive by the day! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Go AnnieBabes, you are my hero! xxx

    • Only one full so far CJ xxx Thank you so much for the lovely comment and all the encouragement. If I can get this far with running anyone can. Just keep chipping away at it. No excuses! We’ve just had the biggest snow in 20 years. I couldn’t get to work on Monday! I thought about you on Monday. The novelty of it was great on Monday but when the forecast was the same for today I was already over it! Fortunately it didn’t eventuate up in the north of Tasmania.

  6. After all my years of running, I’ve never felt the level of enthusiasm you have. It makes me smile. I guess some people have it while others – like me – just survive it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Congratulations on #13. Personally, I like the #13. It’s a perfectly good number. Love the pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Joanne. When I think about my enthusiasm for running it really boils down it’s something I hated that I thought I was bad at. Turns out I’m not bad at it and I love it! Every run amazes me, I’m so lucky that the stars lined up to reveal what has become my happy time like no other. Ohhh gosh, that sounds all romantic and mushy but it’s how I feel hehe.

  7. Like Joanne. I can’t say I share your enthusiasm, in fact I haven’t been running much at all recently. However I very much share your belief in the power of both giving and receiving encouragement and cheering. It is amazing what the mind can let the body so when given that type of positive medicine.

Leave a Reply

