Marathon Training – that’s a wrap!

I saw this earlier in the week. This is why I went for a few days off Pauly on the other hand is still slogging away like a crazy man.

I saw this earlier in the week. This is why I decided on a few days off, Pauly on the other hand is still slogging away like a crazy man.

I’m on leave from work.  Yesterday and today have been about getting household and farm jobs done ready to leave for Melbourne tomorrow.  Today was our last training run.  A lovely cool, slightly foggy 5kms before the day warms up.  We even did a little bit of irrigator dodging which I call Irrigator Intervals.  We stopped at the 2.5km turn around point which happens to be a little bridge over the Main Drain which comes from the Meander Irrigation Scheme.  I had a really good look for a platypus but alas no sightings.  It was a happy, positive run, nice and steady.

In the mist it's a bit hard to tell what direction it's coming. I'm glad it was misty and no one saw me run fast towards it then make a hasty retreat in the other direction.

Irrigator in the mist.  In the mist it’s a bit hard to tell what direction it’s coming. I’m glad it was misty and no one saw me run fast towards it then make a hasty retreat in the other direction.

The bridge at 2.5km is a bridge of hope.  The turn around point of my 5km run on the farm.

This was the spot I would get to when first trying to run 5kms.  I’d get to the bridge exhausted, wondering if I’d make it back home.  I’d walk over the bridge then turn around, telling myself that when I got off the bridge I’d have to be running.

Why do I often write about these early days of running?

There is not one person in this whole wide world who is more amazed by me becoming a runner than me.  That’s why.  I have to pinch myself.  Stop and reflect.  Get amazed by me in running photos.  This is all to remind myself that I actually am a runner and that I have done all this in just under six years.  Running has changed my life for the good.  I’m fitter, stronger, healthier and so much more positive.  And seeing as though the challenges of the last seven years have been the biggest we’ve ever faced it’s a really good thing that running has become part of my focus and psyche.

Marathon training is all wrapped up.  Mental toughness training has taken a small wobble over the last two days due to some external stress, but is back in the right grove now.  I am ready.

Melbourne Weather looks pretty ok at the moment.  It’s 34°C there today!  But on Sunday it’s forecast to be 20°C.  And today is the first time I’ve looked at the weather since I last wrote about it.

It's 10am and 22C already. It's going to be a warm one on the farm today.

It’s 10am and 22C already. It’s going to be a warm one on the farm today.

Bags are packed.  I’m off to Melbourne tomorrow but Pauly is off on Saturday.  Originally he wasn’t entering this marathon due to his farm schedule, but on the quiet he booked his flights, then arranged his accommodation all without telling me (he was prepared to let his flight go if something came up and he couldn’t get there, this will be his first days off since the start of calving six week ago).  It was to be a girls weekend with Janette and I sharing accommodation.  How did I find out he was coming?  Where we find out all the good things of course.  On a run!  He just mentioned in passing to Louise that he had booked his travel. What??? What??? What did you do??? It’s something to laugh about now.  I only entered him in the marathon a couple of weeks ago.  He is flying over on Saturday, running a marathon on Sunday morning, then back on the farm Sunday night.  The Unsporty Woman just shakes her head. That’s just what Pauly does, no need to try to understand, just go with it!  I’m still sharing with Janette so I won’t have to get Pauly ready on race day, only me! This is another story, just don’t ever rely on Pauly to find his own clothes, he pretends he can’t do it.

Pauly making an adjustment mid-run to an irrigator Tuesday night. Irrigation season and work never stops.

Pauly making an adjustment mid-run to an irrigator Tuesday night. Irrigation season and work never stops.

As always thankyou to my amazing running buddies, friends, family and wonderful blogland friends for your words of wisdom, support, encouragement, for reading, for liking and for being there to share in my running journey.  If I can do this, go from letter box, to marathon via a mountain, then anyone can become a runner.  It’s all about perseverance, endurance AND not allowing the thought of quitting one second of air time.

48c23264980eb45d71c4e4b20cece3cd

Team Huey, Dewey, Louie, Daffy and Daisy – Melbourne Marathon here we come!

Oh and while I was cleaning this morning this song came on Smooth FM – I think it’s a great Marathon theme song.

Happy running 🙂

My favourite cow Ruggy. The look on her face sums up her opinion of marathon running. Love you Ruggy x

My favourite cow Ruggy. The look on her face sums up her opinion of marathon running. Love you Ruggy x

22 thoughts on “Marathon Training – that’s a wrap!

  1. I m grinning ear to ear Annie. I hear your confidence between the words. You sound relaxed and ready. I wish I was there in person to cheer but know we will be thinking of you. How wonderful that Pauly booked on the sly. Even if he isn’t very good at keeping a secret.
    We will be anxious to hear the news. You go runner girl! xo

    • Thanks Sue 🙂 I appreciate your cheers and support. I’m going to attempt to be a serious runner and not update my facebook on the run! I’ll put something up when I finish or at least when I’ve downed my first can of emergency ginger beer. Pauly will be good for something – he’s going to have one in his bag for me. Once the ginger beer is downed I’ll do an update 🙂

    • Thanks Shaz 🙂 I hope your BBC weather app is saying as nice things as the Aus Weather Channel is – looks like it’s going to an ok day. Thanks for your support AND thanks for that awesome article you sent me. It was so good. Really helped with the nerves this week.

      • BBC says 18 degrees and sunny for you, a bit of cloud might be nice, but depends what time you starting I guess! Glad the nerves are holding out, always think it’s good to know your worries are everyone else’s! I thought I was the only one to obsess about the weather for race day.

      • Thanks Shaz 🙂 it’s not feeling too bad out there today. I think we’re going to be most fortunate with the weather, now just for the running! We are feeling pretty calm right now though.

  2. Good luck to you both! Hope you smash it and have a great time. Looking forward to reading all about it.

  3. Good luck! I like to hear about it when you look back, I find it encouraging to think that I can improve my running like you! I think it’s good for us to recognise our achievements! Looking forwards to reading your post marathon post!

    • Thanks Julie 🙂 you certainly can keep going from strength to strength with your running. Marathon is done and I was able to achieve my goal. I’m so proud of myself but also in a state of disbelief x

Leave a Reply

