The Weekend – But wait there’s more

It’s a long weekend here in Tasmania Australia.  What’s not to like about a long weekend?  I love them!

It’s Sunday evening.  It’s mild.  It’s quiet.  We’re home on the farm, just Paul and I and it’s lovely.

Did I say it was quiet?  These babies along with about 100 of their friends are in the house paddocks.  They are being weaned and just like people-babies when they are weaned these moo-babies are protesting in a loud mooing-maaing sort of way.

Did I say it was quiet? These babies along with about 100 of their friends are in the house paddocks. They are being weaned and just like people-babies when they are weaned, these moo-babies are protesting in a loud mooing-maaing sort of way.  They better settle down before I go to bed or I’ll be shooing them into another paddock!

Friday morning saw Pauly, Louise and I chip out 15kms.  It wasn’t the prettiest of runs for me.  At the 10th km I felt ok but started to feel like I’d like to stop.  At the 13th km I definitely wanted to stop but with one foot in front of the other I got it done.

Saturday morning was parkrun.  A nice easy paced 5kms for me.  Pauly on the other hand decided he needed to put in and clocked 22:28 and first in his age group.  His PB remains 21:14.

My view from the front deck on Saturday morning.  Summer is coming.

My view from the front deck on Saturday morning. Summer is coming.

Today was 13kms with The Running Group.  With Pauly in serious Bruny Island Ultra training mode he’s back to ramping up the kms after the marathon two weeks ago.  He ran 25kms and Janette ran with him for 19kms.  I on the other hand had a lovely cruisy 7kms.  I was a bit tired.  Shall I tell you why???  Someone decided that it was ok to set the alarm for 2am and then 3am so that he could get up and check on the Rugby World Cup.  Someone else was not impressed and is now rather tired.  It’s not even 6pm and I’m looking forward to going to sleep.

After running on both Saturday and today we’ve been heading up to the gym to go for a swim.  It’s so nice.  I can’t believe how few people go to this place.  And there is a café attached.  It’s been lovely to run, swim, have a spa and then breakfast with lots of lovely running people.

The biggest thing on my weekend agenda has been catching up on the gardening (after the marathon I’ll get that done I kept saying to myself).  I can’t say I let the garden go during marathon training but it isn’t where I like it to be.  Me and my pruning implements have been working overtime.  Another reason why I’m tired.

12190796_10153378289728020_2704355989243071685_n

Time will tell if these seedlings will grow or just become gourmet possum and wallaby food.

Time will tell if these seedlings will grow or just become gourmet possum and wallaby food.

And the really awesome thing is that last night and just now we’ve having a few millimetres of rain.  October for Tasmania has been the driest month on record since weather recording started.  We are heading for an El Nino year that is being described as the Godzilla of all El Ninos.  One day at time.  Deep breaths.  So that Pauly can get into town to do all this running and recreation he gets up quite early and then works until late shifting irrigators on the farm.  We’re hoping for more rain.  Winter didn’t even fill the dams.  We are lucky to be part of the Meander Irrigation Scheme so there won’t be a shortage of water.

Saturday, Sunday and tomorrow is Monday and it’s still the weekend.  Lovely.  More gardening for me tomorrow and hopefully a trip to the gym and a swim before our Monday Parmi night tradition.

It’s lovely to be running again, lovely to be catching up on the garden and really lovely not to be following a strict running plan but to be running for fun, friendship and fitness.

Happy running 🙂

PS Don’t mention the rugby and no one gets hurt – it’s bad enough being woken up by the Dairy Farmer’s alarms anywhere from 4am on a regular basis but alarms for the rugby?  Grumble!

10 thoughts on “The Weekend – But wait there’s more

  1. I did think of you when the rugby was on and wonder if Pauly was able to watch it with his farm schedule and the time difference! Not surprised you are tired!

  2. Boo to the alarm in the middle of the night. Ugh! Can’t even blame all those cutie cows for the disturbance. You sound like you are in a very happy place Annie. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

