2015 a marathon year in many ways

2015.  The light is at the end of the tunnel. We made it.

I could go over the running highlights and running events of the last 12 months. But really there is only one way to sum up the 2015 running year…

In 2015 I became a Marathoner…I ran two marathons.

What does this say? This says that if I can build up to running a marathon anyone can.  You Can! It takes determination, but you can.  It takes time spent in running shoes and realistic planning to fit the training in, but it is possible.  It is doable.  I am proof.  If I can you can.

1653634_10153484222603020_1146180232955845765_n

10169205_10153484232173020_2805725245531389372_n

A page from the wonderful scrapbook that Louie made – she’s made me two and I LOVE them!

2016.  The plan for 2016 is to run three marathons and finish the year with Bruny Island Ultra Marathon (64kms) in December:

far happy always

After my last run today I’m feeling quite amazed to say that I’ve run just a smidge over 2,000kms this year.
Not all of them happy, but most of them!

They are plans. I’ll be taking it one marathon at a time and then reassessing the big end of year plan for the Ultra.  The great thing about running is that if it’s not the right time one year or the next, there is always another year.  Running will wait for us until we’re ready.  And if I never get to run the Ultra, well the fun will be in trying.

Where would this Unsporty Woman be without her running friends? Running friends both here in Australia and out there in the Blogosphere?  I’d be nowhere near as confident.  Nowhere near as sure.  To all my running buddies thank you so much.  Your inspiration, your encouragement and your cheering means so much!  All of you have a special place in my heart.

Look what arrived on Christmas Eve! I was so excited...all the way from Shaz in the UK. Thanks Shaz x

Look what arrived on Christmas Eve! I was so excited…all the way from Shaz in the UK. Thanks Shaz x

A highlight this year has been meeting up with several fellow bloggers and blog followers. It started in January with meeting the wonderful Melee and her family and then just yesterday Daniel from Canada was passing through Deloraine so we got to have a coffee with him.  Running and blogging has introduced me to some truly lovely people and I’m so grateful!

From me to you I hope you can look back at 2015 and see things that make you happy and smile. I hope you can remember events that make you proud.  And my biggest wish is that your plans, goals and dreams for 2016 will come to fruition.

imagesPIYS4WB8

As Pauly and I look ahead into 2016 we are so glad to have running plans to look forward to. They give us a break from the hard work of every day.  They give us time with people we love.  We’d be so much the poorer if running together wasn’t part of our future.

I’m taking a break from blogging until after Cadbury Marathon on Sunday 10 January.  To everyone taking part in Janathon I’ll be cheering!

See you in a couple of weeks.  Safe travels until then.

HNY2016

Happy New Year xxx From me to you all the best for 2016 – happiness, health, prosperity and runs that make you feel great.

Happy running 🙂

Another page from the Scrapbok

Another page from the Scrapbook

This is a Myrtle tree taken on our run this morning.

This is a Myrtle tree taken on our run this morning.

When the mercury goes up, there is no better place than a country road winding through the bush

When the mercury goes up, there is no better place than a country road winding through the bush

And who better to run with than my Pauly

And who better to run with than my Pauly

Undulating up and down...this road is a bit of a statement about the trials and tribulations of farming at the moment

Undulating up and down…this road is a bit of a statement about the trials and tribulations of farming at the moment.  This pretty place is only two minutes from home.

Running is cheaper than therapy. And on a hot day (34C) a cool bush run revives the soul.

Running is cheaper than therapy. And on a hot day (34C) a cool bush run revives the soul.

Life is short.  Buy the shoes.  And if they’re running shoes even better.

Happy New Year!

 

22 thoughts on “2015 a marathon year in many ways

  1. Happy New Year! I am so glad to have come across your blog this year and look forward to your running in 2016! Very inspirational! I wish you all the best for Great Ocean Rd, it’s a tough marathon, but I’m guessing nothing compared to point to pinnacle! The fact you’ve done that puts you in a good place to conquer the Great Ocean Marathon and given you’ve done the Half at GOR this year, you know what to expect.

    I hope to see you down at Hobart next week, I’ll be sure to say hi 🙂

  2. What a year it was! So happy to have found your blog 2 years ago when researching the P2P, even more happy to have met you and shared some of our challenges together!
    I am sure 2016 will be another great year for you, lots of running goals to achieve and lots of happy running to look forward to xx

    • Thanks Sam 🙂 blogging has given some unexpected delights in the shape of meeting you! All the best to you for a wonderful 2016. What an amazing year of accomplishments it’s been for you. I often think of you on long runs ‘Sam has done a big swim and a big cycle and then she runs’ – you have inspired me to push on!

  3. Happy New Year to you and your family Annie. I love the quote on the book about courage, it is so very true. What a great year you’ve had.

  4. Wishing you a lovely break form blogging Annie. I know my break while in Mexico was a good one.
    My mouth dropped open when I read that you ran 2000kms!! you are a machine. Some wonderful goals ahead this year and I will be cheering you on. Looking forward to becoming one of those bloggers you meet in person. xo

      • Looking at a calendar it looks like 6 weeks from now. Wow so exciting! I’ll be in touch when you get home from your holidays about details. 🙂

Leave a Reply

