Gratitude

thats-the-thing-about-running-500

Running along a quiet country road early this morning my heart was heavy.  A lovely lady I know who has gone through enough hurt and turmoil and loss to last several life times was diagnosed with cancer earlier this week and today she is in hospital having the beginning of life saving treatments.

Louise and I were out for our weekly Friday long run.  I looked around the beautiful Australian bush on this now familiar running track and took in the beauty and peace of my surroundings.  I thought about my friend and how I’m sure, if she had a choice, she’d rather be running up the road with Louise and I than be where she is right now – and she isn’t a runner. 

A healthy body is not something to take for granted.  I was overwhelmed with gratitude and humility right there on that country road.  At that moment I felt like the luckiest person alive.  I was having a lovely happy chatty run with a dear friend, running and talking about running plans and goals. 

578896_434015079974699_697700407_n

I quietly dedicated my run to my friend.  In fact I’ve decided to dedicate my marathon training and the Great Ocean Road Marathon to her.  She may not be a runner but she knows what it is to endure through the heart ache and pain that she experienced and now is experiencing in a whole new way.  Honestly if I had a magic wand I would change it all for her.  But I don’t have one.  But I can dedicate my run to her and raise some funds for cancer research.  That is what I’m going to do.

Louise out running this morning

Louise out running this morning

Once again running reminds me how extremely fortunate I am that I can run, that I’m healthy, fit and strong.  Running really is a gift that we can freely give ourselves if only we are brave enough to try. 

And where would I be without my beautiful running buddy Louise who has a heart bigger than Tasmania and always listens and cares.  And why are we friends?  Because of the mutual love of running.

10440220_10153554517288020_8631333433186689398_n

Happy running 🙂

13 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. My best wishes to your friend on her treatment and recovery. Our health is such a precious thing and we are all so vulnerable to lose it. Happy running and stay strong.

  2. Hi Annie, lovely post, from the heart and it sums up what’s important in life. I loved your opening picture and quote, but was sad to go on to hear about your friend. I’d love to sponsor you if you can share the link ? Best wishes, julie

Leave a Reply

