A Car Show?

Sunday.  One of the best days of the week.  This Sunday gone was one out of the box and one that we’d been looking forward to for months.  Apart from a visit by Blondie Daughter #1 and her beloved it was the weekend of the Deloraine Street Car Show.

Car Show?  When it comes to cars I’m just as un-car as I am un-sporty.  What do I know about cars?

  • I know where to put the key in
  • I know where to put the fuel in (I have a diesel car and when I go to the petrol station I say D for Diesel D for Driver so I – mostly – drive in on the correct side)
  • I know how to wash them (1.2kms of gravel drive way – I’m an expert!)
  • I know how to vacuum and Amor All them (that spray on stuff that makes everything lovely inside, I am OCD about how the inside of my car is kept, it looks beautiful)
  • And I know how to park them (others may disagree on this)

I don’t much like driving them.  Seriously, I don’t like driving at all, I’d rather be a passenger.

Why would I be looking forward to a car show?  It was an opportunity for Pauly to support a locally grown (inaugural) event that was doing everything right about supporting our little town.  The old Zephyr was done up in the nick of time to be the Bridal Car at the wedding of Brown-eyed daughter #1 and H in November.  It had been back in the garage ever since.  On Saturday the old lady was washed, shammied and shined and I must say was looking rather gorgeous in her sweet-little-black-old-car way.

9Q9Hz1nDrof1llgWWmGwipOj3rA13Yik6-gMu2CJe6E

A0OKrjQIT_Kw6WVB-StD5O0k3wrUiEH-iI7_Z9MtuPQ

Stopping at the dairy to undo the tape just as the milk tanker was coming in.

Stopping at the dairy to undo the tape just as the milk tanker was coming in.

Early on Sunday morning Pauly and I took the old girl into Deloraine.  I followed behind but just before the main area of the Car Show I parked my car and jumped in with Pauly.  My very first ride in the Zephyr.  So cute!  It was like being taken back into another world.  To think that 60 years ago she’d been the latest in motoring technology.

We parked the car, then off we went for our Sunday run.  It was a sloggy, warm run but we did it.  10kms.  Then back to the Car Show for a little look.

When we parked the Zephyr there were lots of cars everywhere, but in the space of an hour the cars had multiplied!  The organisers were expecting about 150 to 200 and all up 400 came!  Every available space in the Deloraine business district had a beautiful old car displayed.  People were everywhere too.  The organisers were firm on the fact that there were only to be local businesses involved in the day;  it was hoped that this event would not only showcase the town but support local businesses (Country Tasmania has been doing it tough over the last few years).  I’ve popped into two cafes this week and had a chat and both said Sunday was their best day of business in years and years!

It was a simply beautiful morning.

It was a simply beautiful morning.

Parking the Zephyr and now off for a run.

Parking the Zephyr and now off for a run.

The view around the Zephyr when we returned just an hour later.

The view around the Zephyr when we returned just an hour later.

It was a lovely day in Deloraine.  There was a casual, uniquely country-Tasmanian feel about the day.  No fuss or bother, just a heap of people enjoying the opportunity to look at vehicles from a bygone era that had been lovingly maintained or restored.  To smile and laugh.  I heard countless times comments like My Grandad had one of those back in the 50s.  Pauly was in his element lifting the bonnet of the Zephyr and talking all things old car.  For some just opening the door of the Zephyr and taking in that old-car smell took them back in time to their childhood and reminded them of special people long since past.  An opportunity to remember and be grateful just because of a car show.

A view of the main street that was closed off for the day (Photo stolen from facebook: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1566236413703121&set=o.893397094116069&type=3&theater)

A view of the main street that was closed off for the day (Photo stolen from facebook: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1566236413703121&set=o.893397094116069&type=3&theater)

My lovely running buddy Louise and her husband Grant were part of the organising team.  They are car people.  Louise knows more about cars than most men.  All the family were working hard doing volunteer roles on the day.  They were in their element and their family had several cars in the show.  I was talking to Louie’s Mum about one of the cars Louie’s Dad had displayed.  It was an Austin Healey convertible, red and sparkly.  Louie’s Mum told us that her husband had taught her to drive in that car when she was 18.  It looked brand new.  Louie’s Mum’s eyes sparkled just as much as the car as she told that story.

That’s what I loved about the day more than looking at the cars.  The sparkle in the eyes of those wandering around, reliving memories, telling stories, coming together as a community, that was the wonderful thing about the day.

A huge big shout out to the bunch of ordinary chaps and their families who put this unique event together.  They worked for months and months but their hard work paid off on Sunday.  To enter a car a donation was asked for, this will be donated to the local Fire Brigade and the SES.

I’m not a car person one bit but I loved The Deloraine Car Show.

And we got a run in with some different sort of things to look at it.  And that is always a good thing.

20160221_095642

Happy running 🙂

Ps if you want to keep up with when the car show is next year follow their facebook page:  Deloraine Street Car Show Classic and Custom.

20d323c78f8d0308fbc3a1b988b813d7

That’s me – becoming a classic old lady runner, that’s my aim.

2 thoughts on “A Car Show?

  1. Oh Annie, i LOVE vintage cars!!! and the Zephyr is just beautiful!!!! cannot believe she is 60! wow!!!
    LOVE the BrownHairedDaughters wedding pic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

