The Race

I stand in the mash of runners.  Anticipating the start of the race.  I breathe in the atmosphere; the feeling of tension the feeling of anxiety.  Embracing the nerves as friends – I know this shows respect for what I’m about to do.  Respect for the distance.  Respect for my body, respect for my heart, soul and mind – together these elements of me become a team, without all of them I can not succeed.

I am a runner.  Long gone are the feelings of awkwardness.  A race number pinned to my shirt?  This is my normal.  Those feelings of not belonging here, of wanting to apologise for being here because I don’t belong?  They are clear memories, but distant.  This is my native territory.  This is where I belong.

Closing my eyes I remember the training runs.  The swimming and cross training.  The dedication to my training program.  The runs are done, deposited in the run bank ready for withdrawal right now.  I remember my race plan.  I am ready to take on the distance.  Own race, own pace.  My mind is strong, my mantras are primed.  When the tough times come I am ready to keep on running because I know I can.

Opening my eyes I look down at my running shoes.  I click my heels three times and say Take me to the finish line, take me to the finish line.  My eyes focus off into the distance, beyond the heads of the runners close around me.  I focus on the road ahead knowing I will succeed.

The gun sounds and we are off.  We are ready to chase down our dreams and make them come true.

I am a runner.  I can do this.

Happy running 🙂

13 thoughts on “The Race

  1. I love this!
    I just know you will have a great race, with a smile on your face and friends and loved ones with you on that start line. Yet another marathon, you’re just awesome 😊

  2. gut churning anticipation washes over me, I’m looking forward to that moment of calm just before we head off (and of course the moment when we cross the finish)
    See you at the start line!

  3. So perfect Annie, sums it up beautifully. I’m going to try the click of the heels three times, sounds like a great idea.

    Good luck for Sunday, again, not that you need it, you’ve done the training and have the spirit in you to get you over the line. Enjoy and have a wonderful time!

  4. My favourite line is “Embracing the nerves as friends – I know this shows respect for what I’m about to do. Respect for the distance” So beautifully said and I’ve never thought of it that way before.

    Good luck and I hope you enjoy a fleetness of foot 🙂

  5. Good luck Annie. I agree with Joanne that embracing the nerves as friends is a line i love. One to remember. Looking forward to hearing the stories!

Leave a Reply

