Ho hum

12 days out from Marathon Number five and I’m home sick with the virus that is rampantly doing the rounds of Northern Tasmania.  I don’t have enough fingers to count the people I know who’ve enjoyed some down time with this energy-sucking annoyance.

It's freezing but beautiful and sunny - spring is around the corner.

It’s freezing but beautiful and sunny – spring is around the corner.

In truth I think I’ve been fighting the virus off for a couple of weeks, finally on Tuesday morning it hit in a way that I couldn’t ignore it.  What to do?  Look after myself that’s what.  For the first time in eight years I’m being most grown up and have taken multiple days off work (view nervous twitching).  Currently I’ve missed one day of training (yesterday).  I’m confident that by marathon day, in fact by this weekend I’ll be back on deck.  It’s taper time, so missing a few runs will not hurt at all; perhaps could do me some good.  I’ll be itching to get out running when that horn sounds for the start of the marathon.

In the meantime I am indulging in all things healthy.

Take that virus, you won't survive with this arsenal of healthiness. I've even made some chicken soup complete with garlic, ginger, onions, chili and black pepper.

Take that virus, you won’t survive with this arsenal of healthiness. I’ve even made some chicken soup complete with garlic, ginger, onions, turmeric, chili and black pepper.

In blessing-counting mode I’m grateful that I can take time off work, rest and eat well.  It’s wonderful to live in a place where these things are possible.

14141499_10154032818098020_2562871351710130992_n

Calving hasn't officially started but already the calf shed is filling.

Calving hasn’t officially started but already the calf shed is filling.   I hope Pauly doesn’t come down with the virus, his boss isn’t quite so nice (that’s the trouble when you work for yourself).

Yes, a little bit of ho hum-ness here for this Unsporty Woman, but come marathon day I’ll be fighting fit!  Maybe I’ll even be a little dangerous due to suffering from cabin fever.  Now back to the couch and my ultra-marathon reading.

Happy running 🙂

12 thoughts on “Ho hum

  1. Good for you Annie to take care of yourself! Sending healthy vibes your way. Yes i bet come marathon day you will have so much pent up energy you will be more than your usual running machine. Xo

  2. Rest up and get well soon, there seems to be a lot of nasty bugs around down here too!
    A few days rest is certainly not going to make or break your marathon but rushing back into it too soon will definitely affect your performance.
    Take care of yourself xx

  3. Ooooh a CouchPotatoingChillax!!!! Just make the most of the rest… Sounds like you’ve got healing that body and treating yourself well, sorted AnnieBabes!!!! Fingers crossed its done and dusted in the new few days xxxx
    Calves…. Awww I just wanna schnuggle!!!! 😊

    • Thanks CJ 🙂 I’ve just got back from feeding calves. Oh my goodness, teaching a gazillion how to feed on a feeder. I had to say a mantra like I do running ‘I am in control, I am calm’ – except I was completely out of control and not calm hehe but we got the job done in the end.

  4. Ugh! Don’t you just hate it when that happens?!! You’re feeling all great and strong, then a stupid bug comes around and pulls the carpet out from underneath you when you’re approaching the peak!

    Sounds to me like you’re doing all the right things – rest, fluids, kick-butt attitude … yup. You’ve got this!

Leave a Reply

