Merry Christmas

every mile is a gift

Merry Christmas from out here on the farm in the middle of Tasmania Australia.  It’s a warm day, 28°C.  The irrigators are whirling profusely attempting to keep the grass growing for the hungry moo cows.  This is my first day of holidays and it’s been a wonderful day so far.  It started with a run with Louie.  Our first Friday long run in more than three months!  It was lovely (this is my biggest understatement for 2016).  I’m on track to run Cadbury Half Marathon in mid January.  Slowly, slowly, but so far so good.  On Boxing Day Team Huey, Dewey and Louie will run 15kms together.

Pauly and I dressed up as Canadian Reindeer for the annual Christmas dressup run with The Running Group. The Group did 5kms and we went on to do 12kms. I was so tired, it was one tough run, but I got it done.

Pauly and I dressed up as Canadian Reindeer for the annual Christmas dress-up run with The Running Group on Tuesday. The Group did 5kms and we went on to do 12kms. I was so tired, it was one tough run, but I got it done.  We love our Canada running tops from Travel Tales 🙂

While I’ve been pottering around the house doing the things that I like to do at Christmas time (cleaning windows and gardening today) I’ve been mulling over the whole notion that running is a gift.  Gifts form a major part of Christmas for many people so here are a list of 12 Christmas Running Gifts that I’m grateful for right now.

  1. The care of the Osteo, Physio and Masseuse that got me back running.
  2. Caring friends who have commiserated, encouraged and now are rejoicing with me that running has begun again.
  3. My beautiful right knee who is healing.
  4. Lovely running shoes, bought in August but they feel like new because they haven’t done many kms yet.
  5. Safe places to run.
  6. Wonderful people to run with.
  7. The dollars to have a membership at the gym and pool.
  8. The borrowed bike that kept me sane during the Rehab Race.
  9. A cupboard full of wonderful running clothes.
  10. Running plans for 2017 with some new and different events to try.
  11. My husband Pauly who introduced me to running.
  12. A positive attitude that while tested at times, is still holding strong.
Our Christmas Tree, I love the little amble down memory lane it gives me each year. So many decorations given as gifts and special things made by little hands now grown up.

Our Christmas Tree, I love the little amble down memory lane it gives me each year. So many decorations received as gifts and special things made by little hands now grown up.

New decorations this year.

New decorations this year.

Since my Mother in Law passed I've bought a bunch of Lilies in her memory for Christmas.

Since my Mother in Law passed I’ve bought a bunch of Lilies in her memory for Christmas.  They are making the whole house smell divine.

Christmas will be quiet on the farm.  Pauly and I are both working to make sure the milk supply flows along with so many other farmers for who Christmas is just another working day.  We are looking forward to an evening celebration with my parents and eating cherries.  Nothing says Christmas to me like a big bowl of cherries (but because we are at Mum and Dad’s place there will be no cherry pip spitting competition…at least not when they are watching).

I hope that Christmas is a magical time for you no matter how you are spending it.  As runners I hope you can relate to the 12 Running Gifts that I’m grateful for and perhaps ponder your own list of 12.

Life is short.  Running is a gift.  Don’t sit back on that couch on a run day; if you’re fit and healthy then get out there and remember everything about running that got you started in the first place.

Happy running 🙂

running-is-a-gift

21 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Merry Christmas to you and yours. Your posts are always so positive even when things aren’t going your way and we love to follow your progress. I hope 2017 is a big year full of challenges and rewards for us all, xx

  2. Seeing you in those shirts makes my day! Transports me right back to your home. Truly a high point of our year. Love your positive attitude Annie. Always have and always will. Happiest of holidays and big hugs. Xo

  3. A cherry pit spitting contest on Christmas Day? Sounds like something I would sign up for!!

    Best wishes Annie for the best running year ahead in 2017! 😀

  4. A fantastic list which reminds us all to be grateful. I love the fact that you can’t have a cherry spitting competition because you are at your parents house – regardless of how grown up you are they are your parents and rules must be obeyed!!! You make me laugh 🙂

Leave a Reply

