Wishes

Have you heard of an ema?  I hadn’t either until I read Debbie’s post about wishes.  An ema comes from the Japanese belief system of Shinto.  An ema is a wish.  Usually these wishes are written down on a piece of wood and placed at a shrine.  Then the spirits can come and browse and decide if they are going to grant the wish.

This week Pauly and I have put in place our next step from the farm.  Pauly often reminds me that he lands on his feet.  Looking over his life with the rolling turbulence of farm life, this is the case.  Only peole who live in towns think that country life is calm and serene.  It’s not.  We are subject to so many external factors like commodity prices and weather.  We tend to go from crisis to crisis.  It’s a wonder there is any food produced in this world.

Just as the anxiety of where we go next quelled a little, this morning a call came in completely out of the blue.  There is hope. There is light.  There is a chance that we might not have to take this next step.

Then I read Debbie’s post about wishes and I learn about emas.

Hope is a beautiful thing.  Where there is hope and dreams life is good and happy.  It’s the absence of these that make life dark and cold.

As far as drawing goes I’m a much better runner, this is a photo of my ema.  I’ve drawn a picture that represents Mother Cummings Peak and Quamby Bluff that frame our farm.  A picture of a happy little Pauly and Annie – Pauly in his beanie and gumboots and me with a pony tail and gum boots finishing off with a drawing of a beautiful dairy cow.  My ema is that we can stay and farm for another 10 years.  Pauly and I don’t believe in regrets.  Regardless of what happens there are plans B, C and D at this point in time.  We are big dreamers, planners and hard workers.  Whatever happens we will be ok.

Anyone who dares farm the land takes on a commitment of generational proportions.  A name and a signature might be on a deed of ownership, but the land belongs to life itself.  Farmers are simply caretakers.  Custodians.  It is a farmer’s obligation to care for the land with the future in mind.  It can’t be for profits now.  There has to be a balance between making a living, caring for the animals and the land and caring for the people who work on the land with us.  Over the last few years we have met too many agricultural people who don’t know about this balance.  I think the universe knows that my Pauly is one of the good guys.  Whatever happens we have our next move planned.  We are sorted.  But woe betide a farmer who comes onto this land without an understanding of balance.  This particular farm has only been farmed by good men and women.  Our farm is the shape of a triangle (a big one), there is a tiny rectangle cut out on one side.  On this tiny rectangle is a house.  This house was given to a loyal farm worker by an owner many moons past.  This is an illustration of the goodness of the men and women who have worked this parcel of land.  The farmers of this land have been kind, generous, balanced, honest and hard working.  The very best sort of farmers.

Debbie’s ema is way more noble than mine.  My wish is more selfish, we don’t want to leave yet, we’re not ready to go.  Her wish is a world without Parkinson’s Disease.  Check out Debbie’s blog, it’s a lovely one.

And now I must go and get ready because tomorrow is an early start off to Derby for Tassie Trail Fest!  Even when life is tough running gives us something to look forward to and gives a mental break.  My crazy husband is running his third trail marathon while a few other of the Quackers will do our first trail half marathon.

Happy running 🙂

Quamby bluff last night. This was taken about 7:30pm. Silage is being delivered (you can just make out the headlights of the truck). It wasn’t the last load for the night.

Mother Cummings Peak

17 thoughts on “Wishes

  1. That’s a lovley hopeful post Annie and I thank you for linking to my Wish for a world without Parkinson’s Disease. It’s also a selfish wish as it affects my father and ultimately our whole family. I love your ema, you certainly took it to the next level! I really enjoyed learning about emas and I really enjoyed your post! By the way we’ll be down your way in mid May, I’ll be in touch 🙂

  2. Another lovely post Annie!

    I hope you get to farm for many years to come.

    I love your pictures, they bring back many memories of growing up in Tassie! Such a pretty place, I can understand why you’d not want to leave.

    All the best for the trail run!

    • Thank you Megan x hope is such a wonderful thing. I’m feeling so much better about everything now that we have a few possible plans in place. The little wun and ralk in the bush was fun!

  3. Such a beautiful post Annie. You and Paula have so long now been in this state of waiting and wondering. May your wish come true and as always we send our love and positive energy across the miles. Happy running this weekend friends. Xo

  4. It’s the beauty of the land that fools people. I’m sure that when they visit they feel calm and tranquil because of it, so they assume that that is what your life is like!! I hope that your email becomes reality in the best possible way. Like you, I believe that if you try to do your best with good intentions, it will all work out, the unviverse will pay you back😊

    • So true Julie, it’s not until we have to put on the old gum boots and live the way of life that the reality of it sets in. Still it is beautiful. Right now I’m taking in all the lovely things and being grateful. I hope that the universe is happy for us to stay but if not there will be something else in store.

Leave a Reply

