Launceston Ten and the hunt for the PB

Personal Best.  This is so much better than those gold, red and blue ribbons that were given out to the fast people at school.  Those ribbons would be pinned on the fast runners and the rest of us would get nothing.  Nothing but a sense that we weren’t good enough and a huge desire to throw away our running shoes and NEVER get them out again!

Sunday was the fourth time I’ve been brave enough to line up at the start of the Launceston Ten.  This event attracts elites from around the world.  It’s known for its flatness and fastness.  The runner who finished first did so in 28:54!  To most us it’s a fun run that brings on the challenge of trying for a PB.

This year the event had new management complete with a slight reworking of the course and a Festival in City Park.  There was even a mini-expo from which I scored my favourite running shoes for $50 (they are usually $260).  According to the media, registrations for the event were up by 50%.  There were 999 finishers for the 10km!  

Pauly, Janette and Judy: a fantastic cheer squad! (Pauly has the man flu).

My new shoes beside my old ones.

2014 was the first year I ran Launceston Ten.  My time was 52:36.  2015 I was a little faster with a time of 51:57 a PB!  2016 I got slower 54:19 and this year slower again 57:39.  No PBs for the last two years.  Has something happened to my desire to get a PB or have I simply ran the fastest I’ll ever run?  I don’t know but the lack of a PB is simply not worrying me.

I’ll happily clap and rejoice with a fellow runner when they achieve a PB.  I love the pure delight of those lovely people who unexpectedly run faster than ever before.  The look of sheer happiness, shock, elation, and then often the happy tears that follow.  I love how humble these people are.  They don’t expect to achieve and then they do the person who is the most surprised is them!  I just want to go and give them a hug and warmly congratulate them every time!

Are my days of PBs over?  Who knows.  I think they might be.  Right now I’m happy just to be running.  On Sunday I even ran a little incognito:  no hat, no pink.  I managed to sneak by quite a few people totally unrecognised.  And do you know what?  I enjoyed my run immensely.  I smiled all the way.  It was a great day to be out running just for the pure delight of being able to.  The last PB I managed at Launceston Ten will always be cherished.  The memory of running faster than I thought possible will not be forgotten.   But today, this year, right now, running seems to be about the joy of running.  Running makes life richer.  Running is fun.  I’m so glad I am able to run.

Happy running 🙂

Oh but I do LOVE my finishers medals ❤

12 thoughts on “Launceston Ten and the hunt for the PB

  1. To quote my husband, ‘every race is a good race’. Regardless of how ‘good’ or ‘bad’ the race finish was (or horrors, wasn’t), your training got you to the starting line and that is a cause for celebration. I would say you still have a LOT to celebrate 🙂
    … and SCORE on the shoes!!

  2. You are looking good Annie! So strange to see you all in your winter gear😊 I agree it would be so much better if schools timed kids and gave rewards for PB’s. Imagine how incentivising that would be? And how much better for the fitness of the population!

  3. Lovely to see you there on Sunday as always. It was a great day and always an enjoyable run, regardless of the time 🙂

  4. I’m with Joanne for sure. I think you have a great attitude Annie and if one becomes obsessed with the time it really can suck the joy out of it. As we ‘mature’ I think every race, run, cycle, basically any time we get out and move is cause for celebration. Good for you my friend! xo

  5. I love seeing your happy face running! It was such a gorgeous day for a run! I was very lucky to be able to cry some of those happy pb tears!

  6. Hi Annie, It’s been a while since I’ve given you a comment, been so busy! Love this post, it’s so true, always chasing PBs can be hard work, running for enjoyment is so pleasurable.

    It’s been great reading how your year is going and I was glad to see you ran the marathon at GOR, such a beautiful day for it.

    Hope to spot you at Run Melbourne in July, I’ll have my eyes peeled for you amongst the massive crowd.

    Happy running!

    Cheers,

    Megan 🙂

    • Hello Megan 🙂 Thank you for the lovely comment. I hope to see you in July too! You’ll be ahead of me somewhere!!! I hope that through all the busy-ness that life is treating you well.

Leave a Reply

